Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Education and Training

    Hedland bus boosts school attendance

    3/07/2019 9:00 AM
    • Attendance strategy supports families to get children to school  
    • Average attendance improved across four Hedland schools
    • School bus service funded through the Department of Education 

    The McGowan Government will continue to fund the door-to-door school bus that is part of a successful strategy to improve student attendance in Port Hedland and South Hedland.


    The Hedland Attendance Strategy, which has been in place since the start of the year, has seen a marked drop in the number of students with poor attendance at school.


    So far this year, 55 students have returned to school after long absences, and regular attendance averaged across four Hedland schools has improved when compared to mid-Term 2 in 2018.


    Under the strategy, the Department of Education, in partnership with the Western Australia Police Force, the Department of Communities and the Youth Involvement Council, has introduced local initiatives to work with families to reduce barriers to getting children to school.


    The Department of Education is funding the Hedland bus which costs $12,000 per term.


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "This door-to-door bus service has had such a positive impact on school attendance in Hedland. I'm pleased it will continue.     


    "I want to see every child receive a good education no matter where they live. If we can make it easier for reluctant attenders to get to school via the bus service, then our teachers can make sure these children receive a great education."


    Comments attributed to Pilbara MLA Kevin Michel:


    "We know this strategy is working with more children and young people in Hedland coming to school regularly in the first half of this year when compared with the same period in 2018.


    "I look forward to seeing these attendance rates continue to improve."


    Minister's office - 6552 5700