Hon Ben Wyatt LLB MSc MLA

Hon Ben Wyatt LLB MSc MLA

Treasurer; Minister for Finance; Aboriginal Affairs; Lands

    Traditional owners granted sole management of East Kimberley reserve

    18/06/2019 12:00 PM
    • ​East Kimberley reserve sole management transferred to MG Corporation
    • Ord Final Agreement commitment fulfilled

    Lands Minister Ben Wyatt has announced his intention to grant sole management authority of an East Kimberley reserve to the Yawoorroong Miriuwung Gajerrong Yirrgeb Noong Dawang Aboriginal Corporation (MG Corporation), the representative traditional owners for the East Kimberley sub-region.


    Management of the reserve by MG Corporation is a component of the Ord Final Agreement and forms part of a broad Government commitment to Aboriginal economic development in Western Australia.


    The Ord Final Agreement, an agreement between the State and MG Corporation, set out the sole management conditions and included MG Corporation aspiring to solely manage the reserve in the long term, a request that they made in mid-2015.


    The reserve was originally resumed from the pastoral estate and created as a reserve in 1970s to support Ord River irrigation works, better manage soil erosion and enhance the traditional culture of the Miriuwung Gajerrong people.


    The land is currently jointly managed between MG Corporation and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation as part of the Ord Final Agreement.


    Comments attributed to Lands Minister Ben Wyatt:


    "I am delighted to announce the intention of the State to grant MG Corporation's sole management of this reserve and fulfil part of the Ord Final Agreement.


    "The McGowan Government will work with MG Corporation to put a suitable management plan in place, ensuring the corporation has the best opportunity to appropriately manage the land.


    "This decision shows the Government's continued commitment to Aboriginal economic development by providing opportunities for traditional owners to sustainably manage their land."


    Minister's office - 6552 5900