Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    2019 Premier’s Science Awards finalists announced

    19/06/2019 10:00 AM
    • 21 inspiring Western Australian scientists announced as finalists in Premier's Science Awards
    • Four finalists in new Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year category
    • McGowan Government driving a STEM culture in WA to create WA jobs 

    Premier Mark McGowan and Science Minister Dave Kelly today announced 21 ground-breaking Western Australian scientists have been named finalists in this year's Premier's Science Awards.


    The Premier's Science Awards celebrate scientists and highlight the significant work they do to foster a strong STEM culture in Western Australia.


    Increasing participation in STEM is a key priority for the McGowan Government. The recently released State STEM skills strategy aims to build a globally competitive and innovative workforce with the skills to drive WA's technological future and create new job opportunities.


    This year's awards finalists include a scientist who has discovered new ways to treat and diagnose cancer; a scientist who is improving the ways our marine ecosystems are monitored, and a scientist who has found self-sustaining plant communities that can thrive in previously sterile, mined landscapes.


    Premier's Science Award categories include:

    • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize);
    • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize);
    • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize);
    • Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year ($10,000 prize); and
    • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize). 

    The Premier's Science Awards winners and Western Australian Science Hall of Fame inductee will be announced at a ceremony on August 13, 2019. The awards are sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil, Shell and Woodside and supported by the State's five universities.


    For more information, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/scienceawards 


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "These finalists are helping our community in a myriad of ways and inspiring the next generation to study STEM and pursue careers in the jobs of the future.


    "These awards recognise the importance that STEM plays in securing our ongoing wellbeing and prosperity.


    "I commend this year's finalists on their outstanding achievements and the contributions they're making to building a strong STEM culture in Western Australia."


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "Our science community are world-leaders in many respects and it's fantastic to showcase WA talent through these awards.


    "This year's finalists represent a broad cross-section of our population and serve as wonderful role models for all Western Australians who wish to pursue STEM studies and careers.


    "We recently released WA's first-ever State STEM skills strategy which aims to break down barriers to ensure that everyone has an opportunity to participate in a STEM future." 


    Premier's office - 6552 5000

    Science Minister's office - 6552 6100