Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for Health; Mental Health

    Kimberley after-hours nurse manager wins 2019 Nurse of the Year

    12/05/2019 7:05 AM
    • 12 outstanding Western Australian nurses and midwives honoured
    • Winners selected from a competitive field of 47 finalists
    • New award introduced this year to recognise nursing and midwifery teams across the State 

    A Kimberley emergency department nurse who works to address the growing issue of family and domestic violence has been named Western Australia's 2019 Nurse of the Year.


    Andrea Rieusset, Nurse Practitioner in the Emergency Department at Fitzroy Crossing Hospital, also took top honour in the Excellence in Aboriginal Health category at last night's WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards (WANMEA).


    Ms Rieusset's dedication to improving services and clinical outcomes for women and children experiencing family and domestic violence in Kimberley communities led to the development of a comprehensive regional family and domestic violence program, launched in September 2018.


    This year was the 16th WANMEA, which is hosted annually to coincide with International Day of the Midwife on May 5 and International Nurses Day on May 12.


    Overall, the awards recognised 12 category winners, chosen from a field of 47 finalists from across WA's public and private health and education sectors.


    The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Honour was presented to Professor Dianne Wynaden, Professor of Mental Health at Curtin University.


    Over a career spanning four decades, Professor Wynaden has been a trailblazer in mental health nursing. Thanks to her evidence-based approach and her determination to translate findings into standard nursing practice, marginalised patients with mental health problems now receive more appropriate and targeted care. 


    This year's awards introduced a team category award, Excellence in Person Centred Care, to recognise the many inspiring nursing and midwifery teams across the State.


    The inaugural winner of this award was the Bunbury Midwifery Group Practice which developed a holistic woman and family-centred model of care.


    The full list of WANMEA winners can be found at http://www.wanmea.com.au


    Comments attributed to Health Minister Roger Cook:


    "The WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards provide Western Australians with an opportunity to publicly acknowledge approximately 38,000 nurses and midwives working across the State in private, public and non-government sectors.  


    "Nurses and midwives play a critical role in the State's health system and are at the forefront of ensuring compassionate, safe and cost-effective care to the people of Western Australia.


    "I congratulate all winners and finalists and thank them for their constant commitment to driving innovation within their profession.


    "This year's winners come from all levels of experience and from a range of work and practice environments. They were nominated by their colleagues and patients as exemplary nurses and midwives who are making a significant difference to their professions and to the health of Western Australians."


    Minister's office - 6552 6500