Hon Rita Saffioti BBus MLA

Hon Rita Saffioti BBus MLA

Minister for Transport; Planning

    Coastal awards recognise environmental planning excellence

    17/05/2019 2:30 PM
    • Nominations now open for WA Coastal Awards for Excellence
    • Awards recognise achievements in local coastal planning and management activities
    • Award categories range from monitoring, rehabilitation, tourism development and residential design
    • Awards presented as part of the Western Australian Planning Commission's Coastal Zone Management program 

    Planning Minister Rita Saffioti today announced that nominations for the 2019 Western Australian Coastal Awards for Excellence are now open.


    In line with the Government's Western Australian Coastal Zone Strategy, these awards promote the need for collective action to manage and adapt to threats and pressures along our coast in pursuit of our vision of a sustainable coast for the long-term benefit of our community and visitors.


    The 2019 award categories include Coastal Champion, Community Group, Local Government, On-Ground Coastal Management, Coastal Planning and Coastal Design, Heritage and Tourism. Applicants may self-nominate or nominate any eligible community group, organisation or individual.


    The awards are co-ordinated by the Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage on behalf of the Western Australian Planning Commission's Coastal Zone Management program, including Coastwest, the Coastal Management Plan Assistance Program and the Department of Transport's Coastal Adaptation and Protection Grants.


    Nominations close on July 1, 2019 with winners to be announced in October 2019.


    For more information, visit http://www.dplh.wa.gov.au


    Comments attributed to Planning Minister Rita Saffioti:


    "The Western Australian Coastal Awards for Excellence celebrate the people and projects which have achieved so much in protecting, managing and enhancing our experience of the State's coast and marine environment.


    "The awards highlight and raise awareness of the significance of our coastline and aim to recognise those who are committed to caring for it.


    "Nominations are encouraged from individuals, community groups, businesses, schools, local councils and State Government agencies, and anyone who has demonstrated success in one or more of the award categories."


    Minister's office - 6552 5500