Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Minister for Environment; Disability Services; Electoral Affairs

    New appointments to the Conservation and Parks Commission

    23/04/2019 4:00 PM
    • The Minister for Environment has appointed a new chairperson and deputy chairperson to the Conservation and Parks Commission
    • Their two-year terms commence on May 7, 2019 

    Respected academic Professor Chris Doepel has been appointed as the chairperson of Western Australia's Conservation and Parks Commission.


    Professor Doepel chairs The University of Notre Dame's Program and Course Accreditation Committee and undertakes policy work within the Division of Academic Affairs.


    Formerly, Professor Doepel was the Registrar and Chief Executive Officer of the National Native Title Tribunal and has extensive experience as a senior manager in public administration.


    Professor Doepel will be supported by six committee members including newly appointed deputy chairperson Jo Lanagan, and members Tania Donovan and Penny Bond.


    Mrs Lanagan has over 20 years' experience in Commonwealth, State Government and not-for-profit organisations associated with Aboriginal affairs, and is currently the Deputy Chief Executive Officer with Central Desert Native Title Services.


    Ms Donovan has expertise in Aboriginal affairs and is currently working as a heritage officer with the South West Aboriginal Land and Sea Council. Ms Bond is a law graduate with both private and public sector experience.


    The Conservation and Parks Commission is the vesting body for State forest, timber reserves, marine reserves, national parks, conservation parks and nature reserves.


    Amongst other functions, the Commission provides specialist advice to the Minister for Environment on the development of policies related to biodiversity conservation and conservation reserve management.


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:


    "I would like to thank outgoing chairperson Marion Fulker for her three years of service and the significant contribution she has made to the Commission.


    "Since its establishment in 2016, the Commission has built a strong foundation for delivering statutory functions and advocating for the protection of Western Australia's biodiversity and conservation estate, while fostering its appreciation and sustainable use.


    "The seven committee members have significant expertise in their respective fields, and I am confident they will effectively serve Western Australia as members of the Commission."


    Minister's office - 6552 5800