Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Minister for Environment; Disability Services; Electoral Affairs

    Australia Day medallion for environmental scientist

    26/01/2019 10:00 AM
    • Tuart Hill environmental scientist recognised for her achievements
    • Australia Day Achievement Medallion part of recognition of public servants 

    Tuart Hill environmental scientist Kerry Laszig has been awarded an Australia Day Achievement Medallion, as part of a nationwide recognition of the contribution of public servants.


    Australia Day Achievement Medallion recipients are selected by their employer as part of a national program run by the Australia Day Council.


    Ms Laszig was awarded the medallion at a ceremony at the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation in Perth for her achievements as an environmental management expert for the State Government.


    The Australia Day Achievement Medallion is part of a nationally recognised process run by the Australia Day Council in which public sector organisations celebrate the outstanding contributions and performance of their staff. 


    For more information, visit http://www.australiaday.org.au


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:


    "Ms Laszig has made a significant contribution to the science, regulation, issues, policies and strategies for contaminated sites.


    "She led the development of the State's contaminated sites legislation and the establishment of the statutory function of contaminated science classifications in Western Australia.


    "Ms Laszig has influenced national thinking on the responses to contaminants in firefighting foams, focusing on a practical approach that manages risks to human health and the environment, including contributing to the development of a national environmental management plan.


    "Congratulations to Ms Laszig for her outstanding achievements, I am thrilled she has been recognised with an Australia Day Achievement Medallion; it's a fitting tribute to a highly valued member of the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation."


    Minister's office - 6552 5800