Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Minister for Public Sector Management; State Development, Jobs and Trade; Federal-State Relations

    Minor changes within McGowan Cabinet announced

    13/12/2018 9:10 AM
    • Changes maintain government stability
    • Highlights importance of Budget management, METRONET, job creation and energy reform 

    Premier Mark McGowan today announced minor changes within his Cabinet to strengthen the focus of his Government's agenda and assist in balancing workloads for Ministers.


    Treasurer Ben Wyatt will hand the important Energy portfolio to Mines and Petroleum Minister Bill Johnston.


    To accommodate this change, three of Mr Johnston's current portfolios - Commerce, Electoral Affairs and Asian Engagement will be distributed to other Ministers.


    Commerce will now be the responsibility of Attorney General John Quigley, Environment Minister Stephen Dawson will be responsible for Electoral Affairs, and Asian Engagement will be handed to Housing Minister Peter Tinley.


    Transport Minister Rita Saffioti's portfolio responsibility will sharpen, to focus on the crucial job of delivering METRONET and implementing planning reform across the State.


    Lands will become the responsibility of Treasurer Ben Wyatt, and Regional Development Minister Alannah MacTiernan will take on the Ports portfolio.


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "My Government has achieved a lot in our first 20 months of office, we hit the ground running and as a result turned our State around and solved many problems that we inherited.


    "It's always important that we reflect on our workloads in the Cabinet and continue to focus on delivering our election agenda.


    "These minor changes within my Cabinet will help build on the State's strong performance over the last 20 months and continues our stable approach to government.


    "Getting our State back on track, by delivering responsible financial management and building METRONET, is crucial to the future of this State. This will continue to be the major focus of my Government."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000 


    McGowan Cabinet


    Hon Mark McGowan MLAPremier; Minister for Public Sector Management; State Development, Jobs and Trade; Federal-State Relations
    Hon Roger Cook MLADeputy Premier; Minister for Health; Mental Health
    Hon Sue Ellery MLCMinister for Education and Training
    Hon Stephen Dawson MLCMinister for Environment; Disability Services; Electoral Affairs
    Hon Michelle Roberts MLAMinister for Police; Road Safety
    Hon Alannah MacTiernan MLCMinister for Regional Development; Agriculture and Food; Ports; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade
    Hon Francis Logan MLAMinister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services
    Hon David Templeman MLAMinister for Local Government; Heritage; Culture and the Arts
    Hon John Quigley MLAAttorney General; Minister for Commerce
    Hon Mick Murray MLAMinister for Seniors and Ageing; Volunteering; Sport and Recreation
    Hon Ben Wyatt MLATreasurer; Minister for Finance; Aboriginal Affairs; Lands
    Hon Paul Papalia MLAMinister for Tourism; Racing and Gaming; Small Business; Defence Issues; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests
    Hon Bill Johnston MLAMinister for Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Industrial Relations
    Hon Rita Saffioti MLAMinister for Transport; Planning
    Hon Peter Tinley MLAMinister for Housing; Veterans Issues; Youth; Asian Engagement
    Hon Simone McGurk MLAMinister for Child Protection; Women's Interests; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services
    Hon Dave Kelly MLAMinister for Water; Fisheries; Forestry; Innovation and ICT; Science