Hon Bill Johnston MLA

Hon Bill Johnston MLA

Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Corrective Services; Industrial Relations

    McGowan Government appoints new WorkSafe Commissioner

    18/12/2018 10:15 AM
    • State Government appoints Darren Kavanagh as WorkSafe Commissioner
    • Mr Kavanagh will start new role on December 21

    The McGowan Government is pleased to announce that Darren Kavanagh has been appointed the State's WorkSafe Commissioner.


    Mr Kavanagh has more than 15 years of experience working in Australia's occupational, health and safety sector, and most recently worked at the Federal Department of Defence, as Assistant Director Estate Management and Planning.


    His other roles at the Department of Defence included Risk and Compliance Manager for South Australia, Northern Territory and Western Australia; and Work Health and Safety Manager.  


    Prior to that he spent six years at the then Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union as Occupational Safety and Health Manager.


    He is also a nominated member of the Building and Construction Industry Training Fund board and a member of the Worksafe Commission.


    Comments attributed to Industrial Relations Minister Bill Johnston:


    "Darren Kavanagh has high levels of knowledge and experience working in the occupational, health and safety sector.


    "He takes over from Ian Munns, who has been acting in the role since January. I'd like to thank Mr Munns for his strong contribution and consistent efforts during his time acting in the position of Commissioner."


    "Mr Kavanagh's extensive experience in the sector, along with his management of multimillion dollar projects make him eminently suitable for this role.


    "I know he will do an excellent job and look forward to working closely with him on improving work, health and safety practices for workers in Western Australia.


    "One of the McGowan Government's key priorities is worker safety and I know Mr Kavanagh will be able to bring fresh dynamism to the role."


    Minister's office - 6552 6700