Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Finance; Commerce; Women's Interests

    Two public schools crowned WA’s leading STEM educators

    27/11/2018 6:00 AM
    • Governor's School STEM Awards recognise excellence in STEM education
    • Brookman Primary School and Warwick Senior High School win Leadership Excellence Awards
    • Perth College and Comet Bay College win the Meritorious Leadership Awards for primary and secondary categories respectively

    A public primary school and a public high school were yesterday afternoon crowned Western Australia's leading STEM educators at the 2018 Governor's School STEM Awards ceremony.


    Brookman Primary School took out top honours in the primary schools' category with its whole school approach and integration of STEM learning across the curriculum. The Langford school has successfully engaged students with the importance of STEM in their everyday lives and future.


    Warwick Senior High School won the secondary schools' category with its strong leadership and commitment to providing 'STEM for all'. This approach has improved academic performance and student engagement with STEM skills.


    Perth College and Comet Bay College were announced as runners-up in the primary and secondary categories respectively and recognised with Meritorious Leadership awards.


    The winners and runners-up faced strong competition from the other finalists, which were also recognised today at the awards ceremony.


    Established in 2015, the annual awards recognise WA schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, teaching, collaboration and engagement in STEM education.


    The ceremony was held at Government House and provided an opportunity for those from finalist schools to meet the Honourable Wayne Martin AC, Lieutenant Governor, and mingle with judges, education body representatives and stakeholders.


    For more information, visit https://www.scitech.org.au/


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "The McGowan Government is committed to improving STEM education in WA, and most importantly, ensuring it is open and accessible to all students, no matter their postcode or gender.


    "It is fantastic to see two WA public schools recognised as our State's top STEM educators.


    "Earlier this year, I visited Warwick Senior High School to meet the talented STEM students and their inspiring teachers to see their exciting STEM program firsthand and to talk about the McGowan Government's STEM strategy."


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "It is important we build strong STEM skills in our students to prepare them for the jobs of the future.


    "Schools can develop and foster a lifelong passion for STEM learning."


    Comments attributed to the Hon. Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia:


    "I am proud to see our Western Australian schools place a strong and enduring importance on the value of STEM education.


    "I would like to acknowledge all the schools that entered the awards this year, and to congratulate the finalists, runners-up and winners on their ongoing journeys in STEM education.


    "I thank the two judging panels, chaired by Dr Ken Michael AC and Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO."


    Science Minister's office - 6552 6100

    Education and Training Minister's office - 6552 5700


    PrimaryLeadership Excellence Award (Winner) $2,000 prizeBrookman Primary SchoolLangford
    PrimaryMeritorious Leadership Award (Runner-up) $1,000 prizePerth CollegeMount Lawley
    PrimaryFinalistBertram Primary SchoolBertram
    PrimaryFinalistMarmion Primary SchoolMarmion
    PrimaryFinalistOcean Road Primary SchoolDawesville
    PrimaryFinalistVasse Primary SchoolVasse
    SecondaryLeadership Excellence Award (Winner) $2,000 prizeWarwick Senior High SchoolWarwick
    SecondaryMeritorious Leadership Award (Runner-up) $1,000 prizeComet Bay CollegeSecret Harbour
    SecondaryFinalistAshdale Secondary CollegeDarch
    SecondaryFinalistSt Mary's Anglican Girls' SchoolKarrinyup