Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Hon Stephen Dawson MLC

Minister for Environment; Disability Services; Electoral Affairs

    Record entries for WA waste awards

    23/10/2018 12:00 PM
    • More than 50 finalists shortlisted
    • Annual awards celebrate best practice and innovation in waste prevention, reduction and management 

    A record-breaking number of Western Australian organisations and individuals have entered this year's Infinity Awards - showcasing the innovative approaches they are taking to avoid waste, increase recycling and to divert waste from landfill.


    Environment Minister Stephen Dawson today announced the shortlisted finalists vying for top honours in this year's awards.


    Almost 100 nominations were received across nine categories from businesses, local governments, the State Government, community groups and individuals.


    Finalists will be interviewed and assessed by a judging panel later this month, with the winners to be announced at a waste-conscious gala event on Thursday November 15, 2018 - during National Recycling Week.


    Finalists are also eligible for two discretionary awards which may be presented on the night - the 2018 WA Waste Award and the 2018 Waste Initiative of the Year.


    More information on the Infinity Awards can be found on the Waste Authority's website.


    Comments attributed to Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:


    "The interest in the Infinity Awards has more than quadrupled in recent years and I am impressed by the strong and diverse line-up of finalists this year.


    "I congratulate everyone who has submitted a nomination for their commitment to helping WA to own its impact and look forward to learning more about each of these shortlisted projects."


    Minister's office - 6552 5800 


    Infinity Awards finalists for 2018


    Category 1: Avoid Recover Protect - Community Waste Award (six finalists)

    • Earthwise Community
    • Waste Education Program - City of Cockburn
    • Waste Education Program - City of Stirling and Mindarie Regional Council
    • Plastic Free July Challenge - Plastic Free July Foundation
    • Three-bin Food Organics Garden Organics (FOGO) Trial - Southern Metropolitan Regional Council
    • Total Green Recycling 

    Category 2: Avoid Recover Protect - Commercial and Industrial Waste Award (seven finalists)

    • Waste Stream Management - Advance Press
    • Recycle 90 Program - Crown Perth
    • BHP Hydrogen Plant Demolition - Delta Pty Ltd
    • ECO Resources Pty Ltd
    • New Normal Bar + Kitchen
    • Operating Theatre 'Anaesthetic Waste Showcased' - Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital
    • Breathalyser Straw Recycling Project - WA Police Force 

    Category 3: Avoid Recover Protect - Waste Management Award (six finalists)

    • Karratha Mercury Waste Treatment Facility - Contract Resources
    • Colourful Past, Brighter Future - Paintback
    • FOGO Kerbside Collection System - Shire of Collie
    • Reuse of Recycled Glass Product - Shire of Esperance
    • Three-bin Food Organics and Garden Organics (FOGO) Trial - Southern Metropolitan Regional Council and City of Melville
    • Statewide Guidelines for Kerbside Recycling - Waste and Recycling Industry Association of WA, Cleanaway WA, Southern Metropolitan Regional Council, SUEZ WA and Western Australian Local Government Association   

    Category 4: 2018 Waste Champion (seven finalists)

    • Joanne Bumback
    • Nahrel Dallywater
    • Kelly Howlett
    • Lindsay Miles
    • Darryl Naidu
    • Pam Van Effrink
    • Melissa Martinz  

    Category 5: 2018 Young Waste Achiever (two finalists)

    • Nina Prado (8), and Amelie Harrison (8) - Perth College Junior School
    • Sacha Winter (17) - Presbyterian Ladies' College 

    Category 6: Waste Team of the Year (six finalists)

    • Bunbury Harvey Regional Council Waste Education Team
    • City of Cockburn Waste Team
    • Really Useful Recyclers
    • Wasteless Pantry
    • West Coast Eagles Football Club
    • Workpower Balcatta Reuse Shop Team 

    Category 7: Waste Innovation of the Year (seven finalists)

    • Waterway Pollution Management - Cleanamarina 
    • Face Your Waste Clear Bins - Mindarie Regional Council
    • GO2CUP
    • Ocean Reef Fish Cleaning and Waste Management Station - City of Joondalup
    • Parmelia Hilton Perth
    • SpiderWaste Collection Services
    • Uniform Recycling Project - WA Police Force  

    Category 8: Waste Wise School of the Year (six finalists)

    • Augusta Primary School
    • Hillcrest Primary School
    • Lynwood Senior High School
    • Mary's Mount Primary School
    • Riverlands Montessori School
    • Santa Maria College  

    Category 9: Media Award (five finalists)

    • John Flint
    • Lisa Morrison
    • Toli Papadopoulos
    • Kate Stephens
    • Emma Young