Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Finance; Commerce; Women's Interests

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    More primary schools to receive dedicated science labs

    23/10/2018 3:00 PM
    • An additional 100 primary school classrooms are to be converted into science labs in 2020 and 2021
    • The McGowan Government is delivering a key election commitment to focus on science in schools 

    The second round of 100 public primary schools has been selected to have existing classrooms converted into science laboratories to give students hands-on, high-quality science lessons.


    The McGowan Government's $17 million election commitment includes $12 million to transform 200 existing primary school classrooms into science laboratories by 2021, with an additional $5 million for resources.


    Each school has identified an area to be transformed into a science laboratory.


    In addition, each school will receive $25,000 to purchase laboratory equipment and resources such as 3D models of the solar system and human anatomy, digital microscopes, 3D printers, virtual reality headsets, robotics kits and renewable energy kits.


    The next 100 successful schools were announced today during a visit to the newly transformed science lab at Sutherland Dianella Primary School, one of the primary schools selected in the first round. 


    The new science laboratory has created a flexible and adaptive space for science to be taught, using a range of science resources.


    Primary schools across Western Australia - from the Kimberley to the Great Southern - put up their hands for the program. Schools were selected based on their plans to grow and improve science education at their schools to skill students for the jobs of the future.


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "We know how important it is for today's students to understand the concepts taught in science, technology, engineering and mathematics for their future job prospects.


    "These dedicated laboratories and resources enable schools to give students a feel for the interesting world of science from a young age.


    "The vibrant learning environment in the new science lab at Sutherland Dianella Primary School is a fantastic example of what the next round of schools can look forward to."


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "The McGowan Government is investing in science to ensure Western Australians have the right skills for the jobs of the future.


    "Having access to modern laboratories in primary school will encourage an interest in science from a young age, which will hopefully last a lifetime."


    Comments attributed to Mount Lawley MLA Simon Millman:


    "The McGowan Government is preparing WA kids for the jobs of the future.


    "Sutherland Dianella Primary School has a strong STEM focus which is integrated across all learning areas, and the newly converted laboratory means a greater learning experience for students.


    "I'm thrilled Yokine Primary School has been successful in the next round and will have a classroom converted to a science lab by 2021 - WA's next generation will be inspired and supported right here in our community."


    Education and Training Minister's office - 6552 5700

    Science Minister's office - 6552 6100


    Round two successful schools (2020-21)


    Adam Road Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Albany Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Bluff Point Primary SchoolMid-West
    Boyanup Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Broome North Primary SchoolKimberley
    Bunbury Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Busselton Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Capel Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Clifton Park Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Cooinda Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Dardanup Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Donnybrook District High SchoolSouth-West
    Dunsborough Primary SchoolSouth-West
    East Kalgoorlie Primary SchoolGoldfields
    Geraldton Primary SchoolMid-West
    Kalgoorlie Primary SchoolGoldfields
    Katanning Primary SchoolWheatbelt
    Little Grove Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Millars Well Primary SchoolPilbara
    Mount Tarcoola Primary SchoolMid-West
    North Kalgoorlie Primary SchoolGoldfields
    Northam Primary SchoolWheatbelt
    Paraburdoo Primary SchoolPilbara
    Parkfield Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Pegs Creek Primary SchoolPilbara
    Pingelly Primary SchoolWheatbelt
    Rangeway Primary SchoolMid-West
    Rapids Landing Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Roebuck Primary SchoolKimberley
    South Kalgoorlie Primary SchoolGoldfields
    Tom Price Primary SchoolPilbara
    West Busselton Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Wickham Primary SchoolPilbara
    Williams Primary SchoolWheatbelt
    Yakamia Primary SchoolSouth-West
    Alinjarra Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Anzac Terrace Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Ashdale Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Attadale Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Balcatta Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Bassendean Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Belmay Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Bentley Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Booragoon Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Boyare Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Bull Creek Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Burrendah Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Camboon Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Carlisle Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Carramar Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Caversham Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Charthouse Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    City Beach Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Currambine Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Deanmore Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Duncraig Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    East Wanneroo Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Edgewater Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Embleton Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Falls Road Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Forrestdale Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Freshwater Bay Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Gidgegannup Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Glencoe Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Gooseberry Hill Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Halidon Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Harmony Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    High Wycombe Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Hillcrest Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Hilton Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Landsdale Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Leeming Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Mandurah Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Midvale Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Morley Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Mount Helena Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    North Balga Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    North Mandurah Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    North Morley Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Osborne Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Palmyra Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Piara Waters Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Quinns Beach Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Rossmoyne Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Safety Bay Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Secret Harbour Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    South Lake Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    South Perth Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    South Thornlie Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Springfield Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Success Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Takari Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Waikiki Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Wanneroo Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Weld Square Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    West Greenwood Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    West Leederville Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Woodland Grove Primary SchoolSouth Metropolitan
    Woodvale Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan
    Yokine Primary SchoolNorth Metropolitan