Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services

    Fire and Emergency Services Awards honour community heroes

    8/09/2018 8:00 AM
    • Volunteer and career members of State's emergency services recognised in 13 categories
    • Awards acknowledge group and individual achievements across Fire Services, Volunteer Marine Rescue Service (VMRS) and State Emergency Service (SES)
    • First time all emergency groups recognised in one awards ceremony 

    Ordinary Western Australians who have made extraordinary contributions to protect and save their fellow community members were recognised on Friday evening at the inaugural Fire and Emergency Services Awards Ceremony.


    The awards were presented to individuals and groups across 13 categories covering Fire Services, Volunteer Marine Rescue Service (VMRS) and State Emergency Service (SES).


    Among those recognised on Friday evening, Fremantle Sea Rescue was awarded the Outstanding Group Operations for its state-of-the-art technology which allows them to monitor and transmit 11 marine radio channels from any smart phone, tablet or computer anywhere in the world.


    The Tom Price Bush Fire Brigade and Volunteer Fire Rescue Service received the Firefighting Team Achievement Award for working together to defend the Pilbara mining town and its residents in October 2017, harnessing each other's skills and expertise.


    The SES youth achievement award went to Sarah Hamilton from the Belmont/Victoria Park SES for her initiative and perseverance to create a SES badge for Scouts, motivated by her desire to encourage others to positively experience the two volunteer organisations she loves.


    Comments attributed to Emergency Services Minister Francis Logan:


    "I want to extend a big congratulations to all the award recipients and thank them for their outstanding efforts at helping to keep the people of Western Australia safe and to rescue them from harm.


    "Everyone nominated has displayed qualities that make them exceptional in their respective fields: team work, bravery, sacrifice, selflessness.


    "Volunteering is one of the most admirable commitments you can make to your community - without volunteers it would be impossible to respond to fires, floods, storms, cyclones, land and sea searches and rescues.


    "Although we have recognised a handful of members of our emergency services with these awards, every single member is to be congratulated for the role they play and the commitment they have shown to the people of Western Australia."


    Award recipients were recognised across three services:


    Volunteer Marine Rescue Service WA


    DFES Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution

    Jeff Howe ESM - Volunteer Marine Rescue WA Commander


    VMRWA Award for Outstanding Group Operations

    Fremantle Sea Rescue Group


    VMRWA Commander's Award

    Volunteer Marine Rescue Training Group


    Department of Transport Award for Excellence in Marine Safety

    Port Hedland Volunteer Marine Rescue


    Fire Service


    WA Youth Achievement Award

    Callum O'Connell, Tom Price Emergency Services Cadet Corp


    WA Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Award

    Gyula Bogar, Boyup Brook Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service


    Murray Lang Bush Fire Service of WA Award

    Bradley Warr, Dwellingup Bush Fire Brigade


    WA Volunteer Fire and Emergency Services Award

    Chris Unstead, Bullsbrook Volunteer Fire and Emergency Service


    Team Achievement Award

    Tom Price Bush Fire Brigade and Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service


    WA Career Fire and Rescue Service Award

    Phil Brandrett, DFES District Officer, Lower South West


    State Emergency Service


    Peter Keillor Award

    Stephen Faulkner - Wanneroo Joondalup SES


    Team Achievement Award

    National Disaster Rescue Challenge 2017 - WA SES Team


    Youth Achievement Award

    Sarah Hamilton - Belmont/Victoria Park SES


    Minister's office - 6552 6300