Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Finance; Commerce; Women's Interests

    2018 Governor’s School STEM Awards finalists announced

    20/09/2018 10:05 AM
    • Finalists announced for the 2018 Governor's School STEM Awards
    • 10 schools celebrated for excellence in STEM education
    • McGowan Government is working to increase STEM education in schools  

    A total of 10 Western Australian schools have been announced as finalists in the 2018 Governor's School STEM Awards.


    Now in their fourth year, the awards celebrate Western Australian schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, engagement and achievements in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education.


    The awards promote the importance of STEM education in schools to develop talent, skills and a strong culture of STEM in the community to support the jobs of the future.


    The finalists include a mix of regional and metropolitan schools, and government and non-government schools.


    The judges will visit the school finalists next month, followed by an announcement of the winners at an awards ceremony at Government House on November 26, 2018.


    The McGowan Government is committed to promoting and enhancing STEM education through a range of initiatives to prepare Western Australians for future WA jobs.


    Initiatives include $17 million for science programs in up to 200 public primary schools, making coding part of the school curriculum, more than $3.3 million in new funding to kickstart WA's STEM skills strategy and drive WA's future jobs, and school science grants.


    For more information on the awards, visit https://www.scitech.org.au


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "It is important to recognise the commitment and engagement of principals and teachers in developing the skills our kids will require for the jobs of the future. 


    "The McGowan Government is committed to ensuring that STEM education is open to all students no matter their gender or postcode, and the leadership and advocacy of teachers and principals is integral to this."


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "The Governor's School STEM Awards are a fantastic way to acknowledge the outstanding work our schools do to provide successful STEM learning environments for our students.


    "We know the generic skills students learn studying STEM subjects are transferrable across industries, and critical for their future job prospects."


    Comments attributed to the Hon. Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia:


    "This is a great recognition of the efforts and achievements of our schools to prepare Western Australians for the jobs of the future.


    "These awards raise the awareness of strong STEM culture in school communities. I congratulate all finalists on their excellent achievements.


    "It is a fine legacy of my predecessor the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC."


    Science Minister's office - 6552 6100

    Education and Training Minister's office - 6552 5700




    The primary school category finalists are:

    • Bertram Primary School (Bertram)
    • Brookman Primary School (Langford)
    • Marmion Primary School (Marmion)
    • Ocean Road Primary School (Dawesville)
    • Perth College (Mount Lawley)
    • Vasse Primary School (Vasse) 

    The secondary school category finalists are:

    • Ashdale Secondary College (Darch)
    • Comet Bay College (Secret Harbour)
    • St Mary's Anglican Girls' School (Karrinyup)
    • Warwick Senior High School (Warwick)