Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    WA’s brightest scientists recognised as finalists

    16/07/2018 8:00 AM
    • 2018 Premier's Science Awards finalists announced
    • Annual awards celebrate the best and brightest of the WA science community
    • Winners to be announced on August 15, 2018, during National Science Week 

    Premier Mark McGowan and Science Minister Dave Kelly today announced the finalists in the 2018 Premier's Science Awards.


    There are 18 finalists across the four categories, representing a range of science disciplines and achievements.


    The finalists have contributed to a broad spectrum of scientific knowledge from developing marine, biological science and health initiatives to planetary and solar discoveries to innovations in the resources sector.


    The Premier's Science Award winners and WA Science Hall of Fame inductee will be announced at an awards ceremony on Wednesday, 15 August 2018, during National Science Week.


    The 2018 Premier's Science Awards categories are:

    • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize)
    • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize)
    • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
    • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize).


    For more information and to view the list of finalists, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/what-we-do/science-and-innovation/science-award-programs/premier's-science-awards/2018-finalists


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "The WA Government is working to create job opportunities for Western Australians and diversify the economy, including through support for our science sector.


    "The finalists in this year's Premier's Science Awards boast an impressive range of achievements and are exemplars for the community and others in the areas of science."


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "These awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding work of our WA science sector, both in scientific research and engaging the community with science.


    "Advances in science improve the lives of all Western Australians, including through better health and medical treatments, protection of our natural environment, and new and better industries.


    Premier's office: 6552 5000

    Science Minister's office: 6552 6100