Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Minister for Water; Forestry; Innovation and ICT; Science; Youth

    Local innovators a step closer to success

    25/07/2018 11:10 AM
    • Twenty-three successful applicants announced in the 2018 Innovation Vouchers Program
    • Up to $20,000 available for eligible small to medium businesses
    • The program forms part of the McGowan Government's $16.7m New Industries Fund which supports local innovation to create WA jobs and diversify the economy 

    Innovation and ICT Minister Dave Kelly has today announced 23 local innovators have won a grant to help grow their businesses through the 2018 Innovations Voucher program.


    The program enables small to medium enterprises (SMEs) to improve their capability and commercialise their innovations through the support of the State Government. 


    The successful applicants, who were chosen by an independent evaluation panel, will receive up to $20,000. This can go towards research, product development, technology transfer, and support services for intellectual property and commercialisation.


    The 2018 Innovation Vouchers Program participants span several industries including agriculture, healthcare, ICT, mining, environmental, manufacturing, energy, aviation and transport.


    In 2017, WA-based company KodeKLIX® was awarded a grant as part of the Innovation Vouchers Program to help tailor kits and lesson plans to meet the Australian school STEM curriculum. Since being awarded an innovation voucher, the KodeKLIX® technology has been rolled out to 19 WA schools.


    More at: http://www.newindustries.wa.gov.au


    Comments attributed to Innovation and ICT Minister Dave Kelly:


    "The McGowan Government created the New Industries Fund to support local innovation and create WA jobs.


    "Through the New Industries Fund we are able to provide these grants to help grow our local innovative small to medium businesses to the benefit of the economy and to help create WA jobs.


    "I congratulate all 23 winners of the 2018 program and wish them all the best in using these grants to develop their innovation and businesses to support local jobs and the economy.


    "WA-based company KodeKLIX is an example of how local innovative companies can grow their businesses with the help of this State Government program.


    "Last year, KodeKLIX® received an innovation voucher which enabled them to develop their STEM hardware in time for the start of the 2018 school year. So far this year, 19 schools from Geraldton to the South West have implemented KodeKLIX® in their classrooms.


    "The specialised parts of the KodeKLIX® kits are made here in WA, and the company has recently received interest in their product from South Australia."


    Minister's office - 6552 6100


    The 2018 recipients are:

    • Laconik (Canning Vale)
    • Salutem Analytics (Scarborough)
    • Red Rust Contracting (Kununurra)
    • iSOL8 Pty Ltd (Guildford)
    • IQ Seven Actionable Intelligence Pty Ltd (Perth)
    • Atom Minerals Pty Ltd (Perth)
    • LIVEstock Systems Pty Ltd (Cottesloe)
    • Dr Chill (Cottesloe)
    • M3B Labs Pty Ltd (Willetton)
    • Galvin Engineering (Malaga)
    • Syrinx Environmental Pty Ltd (Perth)
    • Healthregen Pty Ltd (Scarborough)
    • ProofDB Pty Ltd (South Fremantle)
    • Cadds Group Pty Ltd (Bibra Lake)
    • Energon Pty Ltd (Perth)
    • Electro.Aero Pty Ltd (Mount Hawthorn)
    • EcoDrive Solutions Limited t/as EcoDrive (Kalamunda)
    • Trisphasic Cardiac Pump Pty Ltd (Kallaroo)
    • Apetics (Cowaramup)
    • AutiSense Pty Ltd (Woodlands)
    • Poach Pear (Bayswater)
    • GENiux (South Perth)
    • Shawn Kay Ryan (Mundaring)