Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Minister for Public Sector Management; State Development, Jobs and Trade; Federal-State Relations

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for Health; Mental Health

    Common board members for Healthway and Lotterywest

    30/07/2018 12:50 PM
    • Lotterywest and Healthway to share common board members
    • Amalgamation to build on synergies and deliver benefits to the community
    • Incoming board members to provide expert stewardship across both organisations
    • Outgoing board members thanked by the Minister 

    Premier Mark McGowan and Health Minister Roger Cook today announced a further aligning of Healthway and Lotterywest.


    Existing Lotterywest Board members Ms Miriam Borthwick, Ms Heather Zampatti and Mr Stephen Carre will serve as board members for both organisations concurrently.


    They will be joined by incoming common board member, former WA Attorney General and Health Minister, Mr Jim McGinty AM.


    They replace outgoing Healthway Board members Mr Nathan Giles, Professor Terry Slevin, Ms Ricky Burges PSM, and Dr Roslyn Carbon, who have provided strong leadership during a period of change for Healthway.


    Common board membership will build on the synergies across both Lotterywest and Healthway, as well as achieve cost and administrative efficiencies so that maximum funds are invested back into improving the health and wellbeing of Western Australians.


    The recent board appointments follow the appointment of Ms Susan Hunt PSM, as CEO of both Lotterywest and Healthway, in December 2017.


    Both Lotterywest and Healthway will continue to operate under their own legislations.


    The Healthway Board will be advised by a panel of experts in public health to ensure the work of Healthway aligns with contemporary health promotion policies. The Health Promotion Advisory Group will be led Professor Mike Daube.


    These changes will come into effect at the next board meeting scheduled in August.


    Other individual members of the Lotterywest Board and Healthway Board will continue in their positions.


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "The incoming common board members are highly experienced, with a long record of accomplishment.


    "Their stewardship will ensure this amalgamation delivers benefits for the community, builds on synergies between Lotterywest and Healthway, and supports great projects to help build a better and healthier Western Australia.


    "I thank the outgoing Healthway Board members for their valuable contribution to Healthway."


    Comments attributed to Health Minister Roger Cook:


    "Healthway continues to play a pivotal role in advancing public health for Western Australians.


    "The appointment of common board members will ensure the Government can more efficiently and effectively deploy grants that will promote and facilitate good health and healthy lifestyles for the people of our State.


    "Healthway's independence has proven instrumental to its success and I've asked the new board members to continue to promote and maintain this independence while maximising opportunities for the best public health outcomes.


    "I thank the outgoing Healthway Board members for providing stable governance and for their important contributions to Healthway's mission of health and wellness."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000

    Health Minister's office - 6552 6500