Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Hon Francis Logan BA (Hons) MLA

Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services

    Remembering Western Australia’s fallen firefighters

    8/05/2018 3:20 PM
    • International Firefighters' Day recognised the sacrifice of firefighters who lost their lives protecting the community
    • Memorial service was at the Firefighters' Grove in Kings Park
    • Service also acknowledged the invaluable service of currently serving firefighters 

    Western Australia's firefighters who made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty were honoured on Sunday (May 6) at an International Firefighters' Day memorial service held at Kings Park.


    The service also recognised the ongoing commitment of firefighters across Western Australia, who dedicate their lives to protecting others and keeping the community safe.


    The State's 26,000 volunteer and career firefighters respond around the clock to a variety of emergencies including bushfires, structure fires, car crashes, urban search and rescue and hazmat incidents.


    Their service is invaluable and Sunday's memorial service reminded the community of the dangers our firefighters can face, and the tragic consequences that can occur.


    Comments attributed to Emergency Services Minister Francis Logan:


    "The memorial service provides an opportunity to honour firefighters who lost their lives while serving their community, and reflect on their noble acts of bravery.


    "Family members and comrades united in their sorrow and celebrated their loved ones, who were remembered for their courage and dedication to serving their community.


    "The role of a firefighter demands mental and physical strength, courage and determination, and the WA community is blessed to have such highly skilled and capable firefighters who put themselves at risk to assist others.


    "I thank and acknowledge those that currently serve, and commend those that have fallen in the line of duty for the sacrifice they made to keep others safe."


    Minister's office - 6552 6300