Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for Health; Mental Health

    Happy 90th birthday to our Royal Flying Doctor Service

    17/05/2018 10:05 AM
    • Celebrating 90 years of a rural health WA icon
    • WA Government is proud to partner with the Royal Flying Doctor Service 

    Today, the WA Government joins partners and the people of Western Australia to offer congratulations to the Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS), an enduring Australian icon who are celebrating their 90th anniversary.


    With unique challenges delivering healthcare across more than 2.5 million square kilometres, the Western Australian Royal Flying Doctor Service provides an essential service across the State.


    From its inception in Queensland in 1928, the RFDS has grown to become an important part of healthcare delivery in Western Australia.


    In 2016-17, the RFDS worked alongside the WA Country Health Service to transport more than 6,300 regional health patients across WA.


    The RFDS has 17 aircraft and five bases in WA, located at Jandakot, Kalgoorlie, Meekatharra, Port Hedland and Broome. It also has a remarkable team of dedicated and skilled staff. 


    The latest RFDS planes are essentially flying intensive care units - they form part of this cherished and vital lifesaving service that celebrates an important milestone with this 90th anniversary.       


    Comments attributed to Health Minister Roger Cook:


    "Emergency patient transport, such as that provided by the Royal Flying Doctor Service, is an essential service that allows country communities to access care in an emergency.


    "I am a proud Western Australian and have grown up appreciating the importance of the Royal Flying Doctor Service to people in rural and remote WA.


    "Providing healthcare across country WA is a team effort, involving a number of key partners to deliver quality healthcare to our communities. The Royal Flying Doctors are an essential part of that delivery."


    Minister's office - 6552 6500