Hon Simone McGurk BA(Arts) BA(Comms) MLA

Hon Simone McGurk BA(Arts) BA(Comms) MLA

Minister for Child Protection; Women's Interests; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services

    Lotterywest grant to establish Denmark community precinct

    5/04/2018 12:45 PM
    • Lotterywest grants the Shire of Denmark $163,400 to help establish The Plane Tree Heritage Precinct
    • The grant will support the development of an amphitheatre and playground 

    Community Services Minister Simone McGurk today announced the Shire of Denmark has received a $163,400 Lotterywest grant towards the development of The Plane Tree Heritage Precinct.


    The precinct will provide a cultural and recreational focal point for the local community.


    The project involves significant upgrades to two historical buildings in the precinct, currently used by Denmark Cottage Craft and Denmark RSL, with Lotterywest funding supporting the development of an amphitheatre and playground.


    Ms McGurk announced the funding, on behalf of Premier Mark McGowan, at an event that included Shire of Denmark councillors and executives as well as representatives from Denmark RSL, Denmark Cottage Craft, the Denmark Historical Society and Great Southern Development Commission.


    Since 1990, Lotterywest has provided 36 grants for various projects to the Shire of Denmark totalling more than $1.7 million.


    Comments attributed to Community Services Minister Simone McGurk:


    "Public spaces play a vital role in the social life of our communities, and provide places for people to come together, display their culture and identities, and embrace diversity and difference.


    "Today's Lotterywest grant will enable the development of an amphitheatre and playground as part of the precinct.


    "The play area planned in this precinct will invite young people to be active and provide opportunities to meet, play or simply 'hang out'.


    "I applaud Lotterywest for working with the community to deliver this exciting development."


    Minister's office - 6552 6600