Hon Simone McGurk BA(Arts) BA(Comms) MLA

Hon Simone McGurk BA(Arts) BA(Comms) MLA

Minister for Child Protection; Women's Interests; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services

    Finalists announced to honour WA community service achievements

    12/04/2018 3:45 PM
    • Community Services Minister Simone McGurk announces the finalists in the 19th Community Services Excellence Awards 

    A total of 31 outstanding organisations and individuals in Western Australia's community services sector have been announced as finalists in the 2018 Community Services Excellence Awards.


    Finalists in the biennial awards included family, legal, advocacy, Aboriginal, mental health, and youth organisations, which had made a significant contribution in the community services sector. Outstanding individuals have also been recognised.


    There are eight categories, including two new categories that recognise individual achievements. 'Above and Beyond' recognises an individual who surpasses expectations through their work in the community services sector while 'Excellence in Leadership' acknowledges an innovative leader.


    Finalists include:

    • Category 1 - Small organisation: Befriend which is a Perth-based not-for-profit with a vision of an inclusive, connected world and was launched in 2010 after founder/CEO Nick Maisey met a young man with cerebral palsy who was desperate for inclusive ways to make new friends.
    • Category 4 - Regional organisation: Youth Involvement Council which has operated in and around Hedland since 1990, and delivers programs to young people aged five to 25 who are likely to be at risk, homeless (or at risk of homelessness), disadvantaged or in need of support.
    • Category 6 - Outstanding contribution to improving life in communities by an Aboriginal organisation: Mirima Dawang Woorlab-gerring Language and Culture Centre which is based in Kununurra and has supported the preservation and revitalisation of the Miriwoong language and culture since the 1970s, with the language now reaching 400 children in Kununurra through primary schools and early learning centres.   

    The winners will be announced on May 2 at the 2018 Western Australian Council of Social Service (WACOSS) conference, of which the State Government is a Platinum sponsor.


    In 2017-18, the State Government is providing $755,832 to WACOSS for sector support activities. For more information about the awards, visit http://www.cseawards.org.au. The 2018 Community Services Excellence Awards are presented by WACOSS in partnership with the Department of Communities. 


    Comments attributed to Community Services Minister Simone McGurk:


    "This year's awards attracted 99 nominations demonstrating the high level of pride, commitment and sheer hard work that occurs in the community services sector.


    "The range of projects and activities contained within these nominations is inspiring and great news for thousands of Western Australians who rely on the sector for so much guidance, support and life-affirming opportunities.


    "I congratulate all nominees - especially the 31 finalists - and look forward to announcing the winners."  


    Minister's office - 6552 6600


    Category 1 - Small Organisation


    Befriend in Crawley

    Phoenix Support and Advocacy Service, Coolbinia

    Street Law Centre WA, operates out of Northbridge, East Perth and Fremantle

    Yangebup Family Centre, Yangebup


    Category 2 - Medium Organisation


    EON Foundation, Subiaco

    Nyoongar Outreach Services, East Perth

    Tuart Place, Fremantle

    Zonta House Refuge Association, Willetton


    Category 3 - Large Organisation


    Foodbank WA, Kewdale

    Parkerville Children and Youth Care, Armadale

    Richmond Wellbeing, Cannington

    Ruah Community Services, Subiaco


    Category 4 - Regional Organisation


    Bloodwood Tree Association, South Hedland

    EON Foundation, Subiaco

    South West Counselling, Busselton

    Youth Involvement Council, South Hedland


    Category 5 - Outstanding commitment to collaborative place-based services or solutions


    ABC Foundation, Carnarvon

    ConnectGroups, Booragoon/Kalumburu (place-based service)

    Mentally Healthy WA Act-Belong-Commit, Bentley/Roebourne (place-based service)

    Save the Children, West Perth/Armadale, (place-based service)


    Category 6 - Outstanding contribution to improving life in communities by an Aboriginal organisation


    Bloodwood Tree Association, South Hedland

    Gumala Aboriginal Corporation, East Perth

    Mirima Dawang Woorlab-gerring Language and Culture Centre, Kununurra

    Yorganop Association, West Perth


    Category 7 - Above and Beyond (Individuals)


    Jamie Barr (City of Armadale), Armadale

    Nicole Haberley (Reach for Life), High Wycombe

    Maggie Lewis (Newman Women’s Shelter), Newman

    Dellys Sice (Manjimup Family Centre), Manjimup


    Category 8 - Excellence in Leadership (Individuals)


    Fran Haintz (Shooting Stars Program), Jolimont

    Vicki-Tree Stephens (Youth Involvement Council), South Hedland

    Dawn Wallam (Yorganop), West Perth