Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Hon David Templeman Dip Tchg BEd MLA

Minister for Culture and the Arts; Sport and Recreation; International Education; Heritage

    State awards honour heritage champions

    27/03/2018 8:00 AM
    • 19 individuals and heritage projects recognised for heritage excellence at the 2018 Western Australian Heritage Awards
    • Award winners demonstrate the important role heritage has to play in attracting tourists to WA 

    The transformation of Cue Public Buildings into a Community and Visitor Centre received the top project award for adaptive reuse at the Western Australian Heritage Awards held last Friday (March 23).


    The awards, which are celebrating their 26th anniversary, recognise outstanding contributions to heritage conservation, adaptive reuse, promotion, tourism and interpretation.


    The high standard of the volunteers, professionals, organisations and projects recognised at the Heritage Awards is testament to the vital and dynamic heritage scene in our State.


    More information on the winners and commendation recipients can be found on the Heritage Council website at https://stateheritage.wa.gov.au/awards


    Comments attributed to Heritage Minister David Templeman:


    "Friday night's Western Australian Heritage Awards was a night of great anticipation, culminating in 19 heritage champions being recognised for the work they do to promote and conserve Western Australia's cultural heritage.


    "The revitalisation of Cue Public Buildings is a fantastic example of how adaptive reuse of a heritage asset and heritage tourism often go hand in hand.


    "The former Cue Post Office has been beautifully restored and adapted for modern use, giving visitors and the local community a wonderful historic building to enjoy and use.


    "Fremantle Town Hall was awarded the top prize for conservation, with the judges noting that its restoration had played an important role in rejuvenating Kings Square.


    "Winners in the heritage tourism and interpretation categories highlight the excellent work being undertaken by tourism operators across the State, and the role heritage tourism plays in re-energising local economies and stimulating visitation in regional areas.


    "The interpretation and conservation works at Old Onslow have given a new lease on life to a previous ghost town, creating a must-see attraction for visitors travelling to the North-West.


    "The Jetty to Jetty Walk Trail captures the heritage of Roebuck Bay foreshore, and shares the stories of the Yawuru people and Broome's pearling heritage with those visiting the region.


    "The high standard of all the individuals and projects honoured illustrates why a Heritage Award is such a highly-sought after and valued accolade, and I congratulate all the winners on their outstanding achievements."


    Minister's office - 6552 5400


    2018 Western Australian Heritage Awards - Winners and commendation recipients


    Voluntary Individual Contribution

    Winner: Ian Wilson, Manjimup


    Professional Contribution

    Winner: Ryan Mossny, founder, Two Feet & a Heartbeat, Perth


    Contribution by a Community-based Organisation

    Winner: Northampton Friends of the Railway

    Commendation: Kings Park Guides


    Contribution by a Public or Private Organisation

    Winner: Tradition Stained Glass & Leadlight, O'Connor


    Heritage Practices by a Local Government

    Winner: City of Bunbury

    Commendation: Shire of Collie


    Interpretation Project

    Joint Winner: Busselton Jetty Museum

    Joint Winner: Jetty to Jetty Walk Trail, Broome

    Commendation: Old Onslow Interpretative Signage


    Heritage Tourism Product

    Winner: Hotham Valley Railway, Peel Region

    Commendation: Kings Park Guided Walks


    Conservation of a State Registered Place

    Winner: Fremantle Town Hall

    Commendation: Gwalia Headframe, part of the Gwalia Museum Group

    Commendation: St Francis Xavier Cathedral, Geraldton


    Adaptive Reuse of a State Registered Place

    Winner: Cue Public Buildings (Government Buildings)

    Commendation: Claremont Railway Station


    The Gerry Gauntlett Award for Outstanding Conservation or Adaptive Reuse

    Winner: Cue Public Buildings (Government Buildings)


    Judges' Award - the Professor David Dolan Award

    Winner: MercyCare for the Catherine McAuley Centre