Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for Health; Mental Health

    New Mental Health Tribunal President appointed

    11/01/2018 6:05 PM
    • Karen Whitney appointed as President of the independent Mental Health Tribunal 

    Mental Health Minister Roger Cook is pleased to announce the appointment of Karen Whitney for a five-year term as President of the Mental Health Tribunal of Western Australia.


    In the role of President, Ms Whitney will lead the Tribunal whose role is to safeguard the rights of people who are subject to involuntary treatment orders under the Mental Health Act 2014.


    Ms Whitney has most recently been a full-time Ordinary Member of the WA State Administrative Tribunal, whose duties include conducting hearings, mediations and conferences in disputes across all aspects of the State Administrative Tribunal's jurisdiction.


    Previously, Ms Whitney was Principal Assistant Ombudsman, Investigations and Legal Services for the Western Australian Ombudsman, and also served for eight years with the Western Australian Legal Profession Complaints Committee.


    She has postgraduate qualifications in Law, Business Leadership, and an undergraduate degree in Sociology and Social Policy. She is a certificated legal practitioner and a nationally accredited mediation practitioner.


    For more information about the Mental Health Tribunal, visit http://www.mht.wa.gov.au


    Comments attributed to Mental Health Minister Roger Cook:


    "I am pleased to announce this appointment of Ms Whitney for a five-year term.


    "Ms Whitney has a strong commitment to positioning the Tribunal to improve the wellbeing of people with mental illness, as well as sound legal, tribunal and senior level general management experience.


    "She is well placed to lead the Tribunal over the next five years, as it plays a critical, independent role in the mental health system.


    "I also thank outgoing Tribunal President Michael Hawkins for his years of service as President and wish him well for the future."


    Minister's office - 6552 6500