Hon Michelle Roberts BA DipEd MLA

Hon Michelle Roberts BA DipEd MLA

Minister for Police; Road Safety

    Police shine in excellence awards

    7/12/2017 11:00 AM
    • ​153 nominations received
    • Celebrating outstanding contribution to the WA community

    The State Government has congratulated the winners and finalists in this year's Nine News WA Police Excellence Awards.


    Police Minister Michelle Roberts announced the winners at an awards breakfast at Crown Perth this morning.


    Detective Sergeant Gina Horch from Karratha Detectives was announced as the winner of the individual category while the Midland CBD Team took out the police team category.


    60 nominations were received in the individual award category this year, including 30 officers each from metropolitan Perth and regional Western Australia.


    In the second category, seven teams from regional WA received nominations, while 18 teams from Perth were nominated.


    The awards recognise the outstanding commitment and dedication of police officers to keep the Western Australian community safe.


    Nominations are received from community members, sporting groups, schools, local government, family members and colleagues.


    The winners of the individual and team awards receive a $5,000 prize and the two finalists each receive a $1,000 prize.


    Comments attributed to Police Minister Michelle Roberts:


    "Today's awards are an opportunity to celebrate the exemplary work of the finalists and winners who have gone above and beyond.


    "On behalf of the State Government, I want to thank all our police officers who day in, day out make an extraordinary commitment to keep our community safe.


    "Your contribution is appreciated by the Government and the community."


    Minister's office - 6552 6900