Hon Bill Johnston MLA

Hon Bill Johnston MLA

Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Corrective Services

    McGowan Government farewells Perth exchange students

    29/11/2017 12:00 PM
    • ​Four high school students leave for Japan as part of AFS Australia's intercultural program
    • Two others will leave for China in March 2018

    The McGowan Government today farewelled four Western Australian students who are travelling to Japan for four weeks.


    Alifia Hasan (aged 17 from Southern River College), Gabrielle Bushby (15, Leeming Senior High School), Shania Cura (15, Newman Senior High School) and Rizky Leonita (17, Hedland Senior High School) will participate in AFS Australia's intercultural program. 


    They will attend intensive Japanese language classes, have the opportunity to experience the country's unique cultural activities and visit its special sites.


    Shania and Rizky have received support from Japanese company Mitsui Iron Ore to go on the trip.


    In addition to the Japanese trip, two other Western Australian students will be heading to China in March 2018.


    Annie Jarman (17 from Perth Modern School), who has studied Mandarin for five years, will be joined by Zoe Lynch-Blosse (15, Goldfields Baptist College, Kalgoorlie).


    They will both live with host families for a year and attend school in China. 


    AFS is a not-for-profit, volunteer driven, intercultural education organisation that helps people from around the world develop their intercultural knowledge and skills.


    Comments attributed to Asian Engagement Minister Bill Johnston:


    "As a former AFS exchange student to Indonesia in the 1980s, I believe exchange programs like this help establish respect and understanding between different cultures.


    "I wish the four students all the best for their trip and encourage them to immerse themselves in the culture and embrace the Japanese language.


    "As Minister for Asian Engagement, I look forward to growing our State's relationship with our Asian neighbours."


    Minister's office - 6552 6700