Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Finance; Commerce; Women's Interests

    Leading lights shine in school STEM awards

    27/11/2017 3:30 PM
    • Governor's School STEM Awards recognise excellence in STEM education
    • Penrhos College wins primary and secondary categories
    • Brookman Primary School and Warwick Senior High School recognised as runners-up 

    Outstanding achievements in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education across the independent and public school sectors were celebrated today at the 2017 Governor's School STEM Awards.


    Penrhos College won both the primary and secondary categories and was recognised for its comprehensive and integrated STEM program, as well as its growing leadership and engagement on STEM matters across the education sector.


    Brookman Primary School in Langford and Warwick Senior High School were announced as the runners-up in the primary and secondary categories, and recognised with Meritorious Leadership awards.


    The winner of both categories beat a strong field of finalists whose achievements were also recognised today.


    The annual awards, established in 2015, recognise Western Australian schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, teaching, collaboration and engagement in STEM education.


    For more information, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/STEMAwards


    Comments attributed to Innovation and ICT Minister Dave Kelly:


    "The State Government is committed to improving school STEM education in WA.


    "We have established a STEM Advisory Panel, chaired by the Chief Scientist of WA, to develop a State STEM Strategy to meet the needs of our future workforce and capitalise on job opportunities.


    "We have also invested $17 million to roll-out science programs in up to 200 public primary schools including resources to create science labs.


    "Worldwide there is a particular focus on engaging girls and young women in STEM subjects, so it is particularly encouraging to see a girls' school winning both categories in this year's awards."


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "I congratulate the winners and finalists in today's awards.


    "It is important we ignite a passion for science in students at a young age so they continue that study throughout their schooling.


    "The generic skills and concepts they learn through science subjects are transferrable across fields - teamwork, problem solving, creativity, independent thinking, critical analysis, initiative and communication."


    Comments attributed to Governor of Western Australia, Kerry Sanderson AC:


    "Penrhos College has successfully created a culture of STEM across both its junior and secondary schools, and has applied STEM principles and processes to all learning areas.


    "I have been pleased to hear of their STEM achievements over the years including their strong focus on maths education.


    "I hope all of our outstanding award winners and finalists will serve as exemplars of best-practice STEM education and the range of possibilities available to engage students.


    "I would like to thank all schools who entered the awards and acknowledge the efforts of the two judging panels, chaired by Dr Ken Michael AC and Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO."


    Innovation and ICT Minister's office - 6552 6100

    Education and Training Minister's office - 6552 5700