Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Hon Sue Ellery BA MLC

Minister for Finance; Commerce; Women's Interests

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    WA schools honoured as finalists for STEM Awards

    29/09/2017 8:45 AM
    • Finalists announced for the 2017 Governor's School STEM Awards
    • Seven schools celebrated for excellence in STEM education
    • McGowan Government committed to improving STEM education in schools for jobs of the future 

    Seven Western Australian schools have been celebrated for their excellent leadership and achievements in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education after being announced as finalists in the 2017 Governor's School STEM Awards.


    The awards, which were established in 2015, recognise the support and commitment of school principals and leadership teams in developing their schools' STEM education programs.


    The finalists were announced last night at a gala dinner commemorating the inaugural STEM Education Conference, attended by Science Minister Dave Kelly and Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC, Governor of Western Australia.


    The primary school category finalists are:

    • Brookman Primary School (Langford);
    • Penrhos College (Como);
    • Perth College (Mount Lawley); and
    • St Mary's Anglican Girls' School (Karrinyup). 

    The senior school category finalists are:

    • Comet Bay College (Secret Harbour);
    • Hampton Senior High School (Morley);
    • Penrhos College (Como);
    • St Mary's Anglican Girls' School (Karrinyup); and
    • Warwick Senior High School (Warwick). 

    The judges will visit the finalist schools next month, ahead of the awards ceremony at Government House on November 27, 2017.


    For more information, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/STEMAwards


    Comments attributed to Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


    "Our school teachers and principals play a crucial role in skilling our kids for the jobs of the future.


    "It is for this reason the McGowan Government has invested $17 million to roll out science programs in 200 public primary schools."


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "We know in Australia that 75 per cent of the fastest growing occupations require STEM skills, so ensuring we have excellent science education programs is crucial for developing the workforce of the future.


    "That is why earlier this year, I announced the appointment of a STEM advisory panel tasked with developing a State STEM strategy."


    Comments attributed to Governor of Western Australia, Kerry Sanderson AC:


    "Today's students will be stepping into the jobs of the future, and STEM skills will be vital to their success in these yet-to-be-imagined roles.


    "These awards aim to raise awareness of the importance of STEM education and encourage best practice in schools. I congratulate all finalists on their achievements."


    Education and Training Minister's office - 6552 5700

    Science Minister's office - 6552 6100