Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Minister for Public Sector Management; State Development, Jobs and Trade; Federal-State Relations

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Minister for Water; Forestry; Innovation and ICT; Science; Youth

    Premier’s Science Awards recognise outstanding WA achievers

    15/08/2017 9:00 AM
    • Professors Harvey Millar and Christobel Saunders joint winners of Scientist of the Year
    • Emeritus Professor John Pate inducted into the WA Science Hall of Fame 

    Western Australia's top researchers and science communicators have been recognised overnight at the Premier's Science Awards for 2017.


    The awards, in their 16th year, are decided by a judging panel led by WA's Chief Scientist, Professor Peter Klinken.


    This year, two outstanding winners shared the $50,000 prize for Scientist of the Year:

    • Professor Harvey Millar, Centre Director, Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence in Plant Energy Biology (The University of Western Australia); and
    • Professor Christobel Saunders, Professor of Surgical Oncology, Head, Division of Surgery (The University of Western Australia). 

    Other winners were:

    • Dr Asha Bowen - Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000);
    • David Gozzard - ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000); and
    • CoderDojo WA - Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000). 

    Emeritus Professor John Pate was inducted into the WA Science Hall of Fame in recognition of his decades-long career in plant ecology and physiology, which has greatly informed the knowledge of flora in WA.


    ExxonMobil, Chevron and Woodside have sponsored the awards since 2013.  Supporting the awards ceremony this year were WA's five universities.


    For more information, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/premiersscienceawards


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "Professors Millar and Saunders both embody the very best of Western Australian aptitude and innovation, and have national leadership roles in their respective fields of plant science, and cancer research and treatment.


    "They are also working actively to educate the next generation of Western Australian scientific researchers and practitioners.


    "On behalf of the State Government, I'd like to congratulate all winners and finalists, and thank them for their contribution to the Western Australian community."


    Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:


    "Our 2017 winners are testament to WA's world-class efforts in areas such as medicine, agriculture and biodiversity, and radio astronomy.


    "CoderDojo was also recognised for its work to recruit the next generation of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) professionals through its open source network of fun, free and social computer programming clubs for people aged seven to 17."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000

    Science Minister's office - 6552 6100