Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Hon Dave Kelly BA MLA

Former Minister for Water; Forestry; Youth

    Local innovators a step closer to victory

    4/08/2017 1:50 PM
    • Finalists announced for the WA Innovator of the Year program
    • $145,000 in prizes to be shared at the awards ceremony in November 2017

    Innovation and ICT Minister Dave Kelly has today announced the finalists of the 2017 WA Innovator of the Year program.


    The awards have run since 2006, and acknowledge and reward exceptional innovators in Western Australia who have developed an outstanding innovative product, technology or service.


    The innovation must be at the emerging or growth phase of development, and demonstrate an economic, social or environmental benefit for the State.


    There are five finalists in the Emerging Category, which is for innovations that are yet to generate revenue. Three companies have been shortlisted for the Growth Category, which recognises innovations already generating revenue.


    There are also three finalists for the Young Innovator of the Year award, which is open to high school students taking part in the Just Start IT program.


    Winners will be announced at the program's awards ceremony on November 1, 2017.


    The list of finalists is available at www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/wa-ioty


    Comments attributed to Innovation and ICT Minister Dave Kelly:


    "The Western Australian Government is committed to raising the profile of innovation in WA and supporting the growth of the State's innovation-based industries.


    "In the lead-up to the awards ceremony in November, all our finalists and semi-finalists will take part in mentoring sessions and workshops on subjects like business management and pitching to investors.


    "These sessions are designed to help start-ups and entrepreneurs as they seek to commercialise their ideas."


    Minister's office - 6552 6100





    Emerging Category

    The FAST way to choose the right antibioticThe University of Western Australia
    Innovative real-time nodule bacteria identification technology for legumesMALDIID Pty Ltd
    MozTrackWesTech Alliance
    Ethylene blockers for reducing postharvest losses in fresh fruit, vegetables and other horticultural productsCurtin University
    Safescape Edge ProtectorBortana Pty Ltd trading as Safescape


    Growth Category

    BankVault.comGoPC Pty Ltd
    Rocks Gone ReefinatorRocks Gone Pty Ltd
    DRUMBEAT QuestHolyoake


    Young Innovator of the Year

    InnovationSchoolTeam members
    GunkiesBunbury Cathedral GrammarLily Roberts and Joanna Otter
    TOLKAComo Secondary CollegeEito Kito, Quincy Kusnady, Ahmed Al-Dulimi, TaeYoung Ham, Matthew Van Bueren and Raj Pandya
    Truck AwayPenrhos CollegeSarah Bailey, Amy Cole, Monika Gregory, Portia Harding, Sherry Lee and Jemma Schofield


    Woodside Oil & Gas Encouragement Award

    3D Mineral ScannerReservoir Rock Technologies
    Mobile Microgrid™ Eteknology Pty Ltd
    Ovass Geospatial PlatformOvass Pty Ltd
    OzQube OverwatchPicosat Systems Pty Ltd


    South 32 Designing for Excellence Encouragement Award

    Safescape Edge ProtectorBortana Pty Ltd trading as Safescape
    emapper - an environmental platform using remote sensing data to monitor and manage minesite rehabilitation performanceAstrong Environmental Services Pty Ltd
    Shutdown Maintenance OptimisationOnesun Pty Ltd
    Predictive Data for Preventative Measures in Safety & Mental HealthTap into Safety