Hon Paul Papalia CSC MLA

Hon Paul Papalia CSC MLA

Minister for Police; Road Safety; Defence Industry; Veterans Issues

    Liquor bans introduced in two more communities

    18/08/2017 11:45 AM
    • Bungardi and Woolah communities declared alcohol restricted areas
    • Community leaders say changes will reduce the amount of alcohol-related harm to their people 

    The Aboriginal communities of Woolah (Doon Doon) in the Shire of Wyndham-East Kimberley and Bungardi in the Shire of Derby West Kimberley will be declared restricted areas under section 175 of the Liquor Control Act 1988.


    From tomorrow, it will be an offence to sell/supply, possess or bring liquor into the communities.


    Community leaders wrote to the Racing and Gaming Minister Paul Papalia asking for the introduction of regulations to prohibit alcohol in these communities.


    The Minister visited Woolah and Bungardi last month to speak to community representatives who said they considered these restrictions the most effective way of reducing the amount of alcohol-related harm to their people.


    The restrictions give police the power to seize and dispose of opened or unopened liquor containers found in the communities and any liquor licensees breaching the regulations would be liable to a $5,000 fine.


    The proposal to make the two communities restricted areas is supported by both WA Police and the shires and the restrictions will be in place for the next three years.


    Bungardi and Woolah will take the total number of communities with these liquor bans in place to 20.


    Comments attributed to Racing and Gaming Minister Paul Papalia:


    "The community leaders are taking charge and calling for these bans to protect their people.


    "It's all about reducing harm, listening to what the communities want and implementing the changes.


    "The harm alcohol abuse causes is well documented and these communities are ready to stop the cycle.


    "I commend the community leaders for asking for these bans and the State Government will continue to support them in their efforts to help their people thrive."


    Minister's office - 6552 5600