Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Public Sector Management; Federal-State Relations

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Hon Roger Cook BA GradDipBus MBA MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for State Development, Jobs and Trade; Tourism; Commerce; Science

    Graylands nurse wins 2017 WA Nurse of the Year award

    7/05/2017 8:00 AM
    • 12 outstanding nurses and midwives honoured
    • Winners selected from a field of 33 finalists 

    A nurse dedicated to holistically improving the health of inpatients at Graylands Hospital has been awarded Western Australia's 2017 Nurse/Midwife of the Year at this year's WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards.


    Premier Mark McGowan congratulated Amy Wallace and all of this year's award winners at a ceremony held at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre last night (May 6).


    Category winners were chosen from a field of 33 finalists from across Western Australia's public and private health and education sectors.


    Ms Wallace commenced the inaugural Physical Health Care Clinical Nurse Specialist role at Graylands Hospital in 2015, with the aim of integrating physical health care into the wellbeing of people with mental illness.


    Research shows that poor physical health can reduce the life expectancy of people with serious mental illness by up to 20 years.


    In her role, Amy introduced a hospital Wellness Clinic and health promotion tools, and began a 'sports program' for patients in acute secure wards that was so successful in reducing agitation, distress and aggression that it is now well established in the hospital.


    Under her leadership, the number of inpatients proactively referred to a GP for health care has increased from 25 to 180 in 12 months, and 77 acutely unwell inpatients have participated in a sports program which has significantly improved their symptoms.


    The 2017 Lifetime Achievement Honour was presented to Professor Di Twigg - the Executive Dean School of Nursing and Midwifery, Edith Cowan University, and Research Consultant at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital.


    2017 is the 14th year of the awards, which are hosted annually to coincide with International Day of the Midwife on May 5 and International Nurses Day on May 12.


    The full list of winners can be found at http://www.wanmea.com.au


    Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


    "I congratulate all winners and finalists and thank them for their constant commitment to driving innovation within their professions.


    "This year's finalists come from all levels of experience and from a range of work and practice environments.


    "They were nominated by their colleagues and patients as exemplary nurses and midwives who are making a significant difference to their professions, their organisations and to the health of Western Australians.


    "Amy deserves special recognition for being chosen as Western Australia's Nurse of the Year for 2017.


    "Professor Di Twigg's induction into the Lifetime Achievement Honour Roll reflects her unique ability to cross the divide between nursing practice and academia, and achieve the highest accolades in both."


    Comments attributed to Health Minister Roger Cook:


    "Western Australia's 38,000 nurses and midwives play a critical role in the State's health system and are at the forefront of ensuring compassionate, safe and cost effective care.


    "These awards provide the wider community with an opportunity to recognise and reward our nurses and midwives for the valuable contribution they make each and every day."


    Premier's office - 6552 5000

    Health Minister's office - 6552 6500