Hon Rita Saffioti BBus MLA

Hon Rita Saffioti BBus MLA

Minister for Transport; Planning; Lands

    Recognition for coastal care excellence

    6/04/2017 10:30 AM
    • Coastal Awards recognise achievements in coastal planning and management
    • Awards presented as part of the Coastwest program
    • Nominations accepted from across the community

    Planning Minister Rita Saffioti today announced that nominations for the 2017 Western Australian Coastal Awards for Excellence are now open.


    The 2017 award categories include Coastal Champion, Community Group, Local Government, On-Ground Coastal Management, Coastal Planning Initiative and Coastal Development/Design/Tourism Initiative.


    Applicants may self-nominate or nominate any eligible community group, organisation or individual.


    The awards are co-ordinated by the Department of Planning on behalf of the WA Planning Commission's Coastwest program.


    Nominations close on Thursday, 1 June 2017 with winners to be announced in August 2017.


    For more information, visit https://planning.wa.gov.au


    Comments attributed to Planning Minister Rita Saffioti:


    "The Western Australian Coastal Awards for Excellence celebrate the achievements of those involved in protecting and managing the State's coast and marine environment.


    "They highlight and raise awareness of the significance of our coastline and aim to recognise those who are committed to caring for it.


    "Nominations are encouraged from community groups, local and State Government agencies, businesses, schools and individuals who have demonstrated success in one or more of the award categories."


    Minister's office 6552 5500