John Bowler

John Bowler

Former Minister for Local Government; Employment Protection; Racing and Gaming; Goldfields-Esperance and Great Southern

    World beaters among WA's top sports stars

    10/01/2006 1:00 AM

    The outstanding efforts of Western Australia’s top sports people were recognised at the prestigious ANZ Sports Star Awards 2005, many of them finishing as the world’s best in their respective fields.

    Sport and Recreation Minister John Bowler paid special tribute to the nine winners who were recognised as the peak performers among a field of 35 athletes, coaches, officials and sporting teams nominated from across 20 different sports.

    “WA has a proud tradition of producing outstanding sporting talent and the current crop is no exception,” Mr Bowler said.

    “Many of our 2005 champions were world-beaters and truly deserving of the recognition they have won here tonight."

    This year’s top prize saw joint winners with canoeist Robin Bell and AFL footballer Ben Cousins sharing the Sports Star of the Year Award after both reached the pinnacles of their sport in 2005.

    Robin Bell created history in November when he claimed Australia's first World Championship gold medal in the sport of Canoe Slalom, edging out his toughest rival and current Olympic champion Frenchman Tony Estanguet.

    The West Coast Eagles captain was voted the AFL’s Best and Fairest winning his first Brownlow Medal and almost led his team to a premiership, narrowly losing to Sydney Swans in the Grand Final.

    Young swimmer Lara Carroll won the Junior Sports Star of the Year after some impressive results including first place at the FINA World Cup 400 Metres Individual Medley, while athletes were not the only focus, with international renowned hockey umpire Murray Grimes named Official of the Year.

    The nine category winners were presented their awards tonight at a gala dinner in the Grand Ballroom of the Hyatt Regency Perth hotel.

    Award winners’ details are below.

    Minister's office: 9213 6500


    Robin Bell - Canoeing; Ben Cousins - AFL Football.
    Paul Burgess - Athletics; Justin Langer - Cricket; Sam Hill - Cycling; Clayton Fredericks - Equestrian; Bevan George - Hockey; Sarah Forbes - Lacrosse; Natalie Bale - Rowing; Amber Bradley - Rowing; Sarah Outhwaite - Rowing; Lara Carroll - Swimming.

    Channel 7 Perth Team of the Year
    Winners: Natalie Bale and Sarah Outhwaite - Rowing.
    West Coast Eagles Football Club; Women’s Golf WA State Team; WA Kings Cup Crew; Fremantle Marlins Water Polo Club.

    Smarter Than Smoking Junior Sports Star
    Winner: Lara Carroll - Swimming.
    Vicky Parnov - Athletics; Scott Sutherland - Cycling; Natasha Cocker - Diving; Emma Wynne - Surf Lifesaving; Jessica Moore - Tennis.

    882 6PR Special Achievement Award
    Winner: Casey Delacqua -Tennis.
    Michael Sim - Golf; Emily Haliday - Hockey.

    Skilled Service to Sport and Recreation WA
    Winner: Don Rudderham - Lacrosse.
    Nominee: Bill Sutherland - Australian Football.

    KPMG Coach of the Year - John Worsfold - AFL Football.

    Gibson and Gibson Official of the Year - Murray Grimes - Hockey.