Jon Ford

Jon Ford

Minister for Employment Protection; Regional Development; Fisheries; the Kimberley, Pilbara and Gascoyne

    Minister appoints new chairman of Gascoyne Development Commission

    18/01/2006 12:00 AM

    Gascoyne Minister Jon Ford has confirmed the appointment of well-known Carnarvon businessman Kevin Leahy as the new chairman of the Gascoyne Development Commission (GDC).

    Mr Leahy is a former member of Western Australia’s Legislative Assembly for the region and has served on the GDC board before.

    “As a returning member, Mr Leahy offers a wealth of experience and leadership and I look forward to working with him to achieve economic and social outcomes for the region,” Mr Ford said.

    Mr Leahy’s term as chairman is until June 2007, with two other members appointed to the board until June 2008.

    Business manager Heather Condo was nominated by the Minister, while Business Enterprise Centre manager Dennis Wade will serve as the community representative.

    “Along with Mr Leahy, both board members will bring a fresh perspective and passion for the future of the Gascoyne,” the Minister said.

    Mrs Condo is active in the Gascoyne community and has family business interests in the horticulture industry.

    “Heather is the secretary of the Gascoyne Table Grape Growers Association and in the past has served as the president of the Carnarvon Chamber of Commerce and Industry,” Mr Ford said.

    Mr Wade is the manager of the Gascoyne Business Enterprise Centre, president of the Shark Bay Telecentre Committee, a member of the Carnarvon Visitors Centre Board and is active in Rotary.

    Mr Ford thanked outgoing chairman Richard Patty for his valuable contribution to the Gascoyne Development Commission.

    Minister's office: 9213 7200