Francis Logan

Francis Logan

Minister for Energy; Resources; Industry and Enterprise

    WA teams still in 'Solar Cities' race

    5/12/2005 12:00 AM

    Housing Minister Francis Logan has welcomed the Federal Government’s decision to shortlist two Western Australian consortia in the race to host the nation’s first Solar Cities race.

    “This is tremendous news for the State as we strive to be at the forefront of energy innovation in Australia,” Mr Logan said.

    “Work will begin immediately on preparing a detailed business case, which will form the basis of the next phase in the competition.”

    Earlier this year, Mr Logan and Premier Geoff Gallop released details of WA’s two submissions to the $75million Solar Cities Project, one based in Perth and the other in Kalgoorlie.

    Successful proponents will take part in a national trial involving solar power generation and ‘smart’ energy-saving techniques. The Commonwealth will offer 50 per cent matching funding.

    “This program offers a great opportunity for WA, because it will give us the chance to explore the realms of solar energy,” the Minister said.

    The Perth consortium is led by the State Housing Commission and includes BP Solar, Solar Sales, the Department of Education and Training, the Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council, the City of Melville, the Perth Transit Authority, Mirvac Fini and Jones Lang LaSalle.

    Its primary aim is to demonstrate sustainable models of electricity supply using solar technologies such as photovoltaic, where solar panels convert sunlight, and solar thermal, where sunlight is used to heat water or air. It will investigate energy efficiency, smart meters and cost-reflective pricing.

    The Perth Solar City Project is primarily focused on the residential and small business sector. Energy-saving techniques, smart meters and energy-efficient appliances will be fitted in a variety of locations, including two existing and one new Department of Housing and Works (DHW) apartment complexes; 100 DHW existing single dwellings, 75 schools in the metropolitan area and the proposed new Cockburn Central rail station.

    The existing private households and businesses will be targeted in the City of Melville, Town of Bassendean, City of Bayswater, Shire of Kalamunda, City of Swan, Shire of Mundaring and City of Belmont.

    The Kalgoorlie consortium is led by the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder.

    Although the group's bid is independent of the Perth proposal, Mr Logan has offered support through the DHW. This includes a potential new Government office building in Kalgoorlie with PV cells, access to Homeswest homes for the installation of PV cells, and access to PV cell technology in indigenous communities.

    Federal Environment Minister Ian Campbell announced the 11 shortlisted consortia today and said their business plans would be assessed by an expert panel before a final decision was made next year.

    Minister's office: 9222 8950