Mark McGowan

Mark McGowan

Minister for Education and Training; South West

    New members share their knowledge with the Peel region

    10/10/2005 12:00 AM

    A wealth of knowledge in the areas of education, mining and industry has been brought to the Peel Development Commission with the appointment of three new board members.

    Peel Minister Mark McGowan today announced John Cowdell, Kim Horne and Paddi Creevey had been appointed to the board for a period of three years. Mr Cowdell had been appointed chair and current board member
    Ms Christine Germain had been appointed deputy chair.

    Mr McGowan said the combined experience brought to the board by the three new members would drive further positive development in the Peel region.

    “The new chair of the board, Mr Cowdell, has been a public servant and was president of the Legislative Council from 2001 to 2005,” he said.

    “As the elected Member for the South-West Region from 1993 until his retirement earlier this year, Mr Cowdell worked tirelessly for the benefit of the community.

    “He also served as Dean of Kingswood College at the University of Western Australia and has lectured at other educational institutions.

    “His broad experience in public life and education will ensure a strong policy focus for the future direction of the board.”

    The Minister said another board member, Mr Horne, would bring valuable industry knowledge to the board as current refinery manager for Alcoa Pinjarra and chair of the local Chamber of Minerals and Energy.

    “Mr Horne has worked in the Peel region for more than 30 years and has a thorough understanding of the issues facing industry and the local community,” Mr McGowan said.

    The Minister said local government representative and Mandurah mayor Paddi Creevey had worked within community development roles throughout most of her career.

    “For the past 10 years, Ms Creevey has been employed as a Senior Social Worker with the Mandurah Community Health and Development Centre,” he said.

    “She is also the founding member and current chair of the local women’s refuge, Pat Thomas Memorial House, chair of Peel Community Development Group and active in a number of other community organisations.”

    Mr McGowan paid tribute to the contribution that the three outgoing board members had made to the Peel region, in particular to outgoing chair John Collett.

    “John has been a board member for the past 10 years and has held the position of chairperson for the last five,” he said.

    “His commitment to the Peel region and the values that he holds have been paramount in successfully guiding the board as it works for the sustainable future of the Peel region.

    “I would also like to thank Councillors Jan Star and Elizabeth Hoek for their outstanding contribution over their term on the board.”

    Further information on the Peel Development Commission and the region is available on

    Minister's office: 9222 9111