John Bowler

John Bowler

Former Minister for Local Government; Employment Protection; Racing and Gaming; Goldfields-Esperance and Great Southern

    2005 Regional Achiever Award winners announced

    21/08/2005 12:00 AM

    Regional achievers from across Western Australia were last night congratulated for their outstanding community contributions at a gala awards function held at the Parmelia Hilton.

    Local Government and Regional Development Minister John Bowler said the 2005 Department of Local Government and Regional Development Regional Achievers Awards and Kleenheat Gas Community of the Year Award recognised those who had made valuable achievement in the regions.

    Mr Bowler said the five winners of the Regional Achievers Awards were:
    • Keith Billingham - Hyden
    • Di Holly - Broomehill
    • Ian Birt - Fitzroy Crossing
    • Daly Winter - Boyup Brook
    • Pleun and Hennie Hitzert - Amelup.
    Winner of the Kleenheat Gas Community of the Year Award was the Wongan-Ballidu Community, for its efforts with the community airstrip.

    The People of Busselton received a special commendation for their efforts with the Save the Whale Rescue Program.

    “The awards give recognition to the unsung heroes who do not go looking for prizes and accolades but go about their work for the betterment of the community and region,” Mr Bowler said.

    “These are people who have made important local contributions in areas of indigenous youth, sea safety, environment, tourism and community safety.

    “These worthy winners have presented a positive image of their region and have proved to be outstanding role models for the wider community.”

    Each individual winner of the Regional Achievers Award received a $1,000 Commonwealth Bank AwardSaver Account to further their field of endeavour and a magnificent trophy. The winner of the Community of the Year Award received a $2,000 Commonwealth Bank AwardSaver Account, a community plaque and a perpetual trophy.

    Minister's office: 9213 6500