John Bowler

John Bowler

Former Minister for Local Government; Employment Protection; Racing and Gaming; Goldfields-Esperance and Great Southern

    Regional Achiever Award finalists announced

    22/07/2005 12:00 AM

    Ten individuals across the State, who have made a significant contribution to their communities, have reached the finals of the 2005 Regional Achiever Awards.

    In announcing the finalists, Local Government and Regional Development Minister John Bowler said it was important to acknowledge these contributors.

    “The finalists are involved in a wide range of community groups and services and have achieved some incredible results for smaller regional towns in Western Australia,” Mr Bowler said.

    “I continue to be humbled by the spirit of Western Australians living in the regions, who show incredible tenacity and commitment towards improving the quality of life for their fellow community members.”

    The 10 finalists in the 2005 Department of Local Government and Regional Development Regional Achievers Awards include: Pleun and Hennie Hizert, of Amelup (The Lily); Daly Winter, from Boyup Brook; Di Holly, of Broomehill;Barry Edwards, from Denham; Freda Chandler, of Dongara; Mick Bennett, from Eaton; Ian Birt, of Fitzroy Crossing; Keith Billingham, of Hyden; and Tim Allen, of Katanning.

    The finalists in the Kleenheat Gas Community of the Year Awards are:People of Busselton Save the Whale Program (Busselton); Geraldton Dogs Refuge (Geraldton); Wyndham East Kimberley Sea Rescue (Kununurra); Peel Palliative Care (Mandurah); Pingaring Progress Association (Pingaring); and Wongan Ballidu Community Airfield Program (Wongan Hills).

    The State Government is a proud sponsor of the awards and Mr Bowler said every individual winner would receive a $1,000 Award Savers Account grant from the Commonwealth Bank to further their field of endeavour and a magnificent trophy. The winner of the Community of the Year Award would also receive a $2,000 grant, a community plaque and a perpetual trophy.

    The award winners will be announced at a prestigious gala event at the Parmelia Hilton on August 20.

    Minister's office: 9213 6500