John Bowler

John Bowler

Former Minister for Local Government; Employment Protection; Racing and Gaming; Goldfields-Esperance and Great Southern

    Nominations for Regional Achievers Award close on June 10

    1/06/2005 12:00 AM

    Western Australians are urged to help recognise the State’s outstanding regional achievers by nominating them for the 2005 Department of Local Government and Regional Development Regional Achievers Award and Kleenheat Gas Community of the Year Award.

    Local Government and Regional Development Minister John Bowler today urged people to help recognise both individual and community achievement and contribution by nominating the deserving activities by June 10.

    “The awards recognise and reward the achievements of those living in remote and regional communities throughout WA, while providing an opportunity to acknowledge and encourage others,” Mr Bowler said.

    “Individuals and community groups who have made a difference to community, economic, agricultural or environmental development in their local area all deserve nomination.”

    Last year’s winners included a Geraldton man who has devoted more than 46 years to the discovery, promotion and preservation of the State’s rich maritime history; and a Newman mother for her work as a counsellor, mentor and community leader.

    Mr Bowler said the Gallop Government was continuing to ensure regional WA received its fair share and reminded the community that nominations for the 2005 awards would close on June 10, with the winners announced at a Gala Awards night at the Parmelia Hilton on August 20.

    The Department of Local Government and Regional Development will award five individual achievers, with each receiving a trophy and a $1,000 AwardSaver Account from the Commonwealth Bank.

    Kleenheat Gas will award a specific community project, group, organisation, city, town or local government with a $2,000 Commonwealth Bank AwardSaver Account, perpetual trophy and a community plaque.

    For more information contact Awards Australia on 9201 1155 or visit the website at

    Minister's Office - 9213 6500