John Bowler

John Bowler

Former Minister for Local Government; Employment Protection; Racing and Gaming; Goldfields-Esperance and Great Southern

    Local government - make sure your vote is counted

    5/05/2005 12:00 AM

    Electors for 98 Western Australian local governments have until 6pm on Saturday to make sure their vote is counted.

    Local Government Minister John Bowler said 47 local governments were conducting postal ballots and another 51 councils would conduct in-person ballots on Saturday May 7.

    “Postal voters would need to have their papers in the mail today, or deliver them in person to their local government office by 6pm Saturday,” Mr Bowler said.

    “More than 34 per cent of postal voters have already had their say.

    “In person elections will be held between 8am and 6pm on Saturday, each local government will advise of its polling places.

    “Local government has an increasingly important impact on our lives, both by providing services and facilities and through its role in planning and community development.

    “Voting is voluntary, but stronger community participation will make for better, more representative local government.

    “Whether they are postal or in-person, only votes received by 6pm on Saturday will be counted.”

    Minister's office: 9213 6500

    Local Governments conducting postal voting in 2005:
    Albany, Armadale, Ashburton, Augusta-Margaret River, Bassendean, Belmont, Bunbury, Busselton, Cambridge, Canning, Capel, Carnarvon, Chittering, Claremont, Cockburn, Collie, Cottesloe, Dardanup, Denmark, Donnybrook-Balingup, East Pilbara, Exmouth, Fremantle, Geraldton, Gingin, Gosnells, Greenough, Kalamunda, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Kwinana, Lake Grace, Mandurah, Melville, Merredin, Mount Marshall, Mundaring, Murray, Nedlands, Perth, Plantagenet, Rockingham, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, South Perth, Stirling, Subiaco, Swan, Victoria Park, Vincent, Wanneroo, Waroona.

    Local Governments conducting in-person voting in 2005:
    Bayswater, Beverley, Boddington, Boyup Brook, Bridgetown Greenbushes, Brookton, Broome, Broomehill, Bruce Rock, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Christmas Island, Cocos Island, Coolgardie, Coorow, Corrigin, Cranbrook, Cuballing, Cue, Cunderdin, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Derby West Kimberley, Dowerin, Dumbleyung, Dundas, East Fremantle, Esperance, Gnowangerup, Goomalling, Halls Creek, Harvey, Irwin, Jerramungup, Katanning, Kellerberrin, Kent, Kojonup, Kondinin, Koorda, Kulin, Laverton, Leonora, Manjimup, Meekatharra, Menzies, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Mosman Park, Mount Magnet, Mukinbudin, Mullewa, Murchison, Nannup, Narembeen, Narrogin (Shire), Narrogin (Town), Northam (Shire), Northam (Town), Northampton, Nungarin, Peppermint Grove, Perenjori, Pingelly, Port Hedland, Quairading, Ravensthorpe, Roebourne, Sandstone, Shark Bay, Tambellup, Tammin, Three Springs, Toodyay, Trayning, Upper Gascoyne, Victoria Plains, Wagin, Wandering, West Arthur, Westonia, Wickepin, Williams, Wiluna, Wongan Ballidu, Woodanilling, Wyalkatchem, Wyndham East Kimberley, Yalgoo, Yilgarn.