Alannah MacTiernan

Alannah MacTiernan

Minister for Planning and Infrastructure

Geoff Gallop

Geoff Gallop

Former Premier; Minister for Public Sector Management; Water Resources; Federal Affairs

    Strong local representation on Ningaloo decision-making body

    9/09/2004 4:30 PM

    All future development applications for the Ningaloo Coast will be referred to a new decision-making body announced today by Premier Geoff Gallop.

    Dr Gallop said the Ningaloo Sustainable Development Committee would be responsible for the coordination and implementation of the Ningaloo Coast Regional Strategy Carnarvon to Exmouth.

    “The committee has been created under the Western Australian Planning Commission Act and has delegated powers from the commission - giving them direct responsibility for all future development along the Ningaloo Coast,” he said.

    “People come from all over Australia and the world to access the rugged natural beauty of the Ningaloo Coast.

    “Part of our commitment to preserving this unique asset is ensuring individual developments have as little impact as possible on the surrounding environment.

    “The Ningaloo Sustainable Development Committee will oversee all development applications for this coastline, ensuring that inappropriate developments are not given the go-ahead.”

    Dr Gallop said the Department of Premier and Cabinet’s David Hatt had been appointed as chair until December 31, 2005.

    “Mr Hatt’s appointment will enable me to access direct advice on the achievement of the various milestones that have been set by the Government for the Ningaloo Project,” he said.

    Planning and Infrastructure Minister Alannah MacTiernan said the committee would work on establishing a memorandum of understanding with local indigenous groups to set out a process of engagement for matters which came before the committee that could potentially impact on indigenous interests.

    Ms MacTiernan said the committee would be supported by the Ningaloo Sustainable Development Office, based in Carnarvon.

    “The involvement of coastal planning expert Professor David Wood, who is also chair of the Coastal Planning and Co-ordination Council, will ensure that development at Ningaloo will be well integrated with the rest of the Western Australian coastline,” she said.

    Members of the Ningaloo Sustainable Development Committee are:

    Chair: David Hatt Premier's Nominee
    Deputy chair: Prof David Wood WAPC Representative
    Cr Dudley Maslen, Shire President Local Govt, Carnarvon
    Cr Karl BrandenbergLocal Govt, Carnarvon Proxy
    Cr John Cooper Local Govt, Exmouth
    Cr Veronica FleayLocal Govt, Exmouth Proxy
    Sue Jones Regional Development
    John Craig Natural Resources Management
    Chris Tallentire Community/Environment
    Lyn Martin Community/Industry
    Stephanie Perry Community/Industry
    Doug Hunt Community/Industry
    Paul Frewer Dept for Planning and Infrastructure.

    Minister's office: 9213 6400