Alannah MacTiernan

Alannah MacTiernan

Minister for Planning and Infrastructure

    Community favours Ag Lime Route 2 option

    4/09/2002 2:35 PM

    An extensive community consensus process has selected Route 2, which travels from the coast, inland through New Norcia, Calingiri and Goomalling, as the preferred agricultural lime sands cartage route from Lancelin into the northern Wheatbelt.

    Planning and Infrastructure Minister Alannah MacTiernan said funds had been re-allocated to begin upgrading the preferred route as soon as possible.

    Ms MacTiernan said the successful consultation process, which included two community workshops held in Northam, fulfilled Labor’s pre-election commitment to review the routes and bring local people into the decision-making.

    “This decision resolves an issue that has been highly contentious for many years,” she said.

    “It means we can now begin upgrading the route and I have requested that Main Roads bring forward $1.5million from next year’s Budget.

    “Work will start over the coming summer and is likely to focus on widening and sealing 10.6km of the 15.6km gravel section between Calingiri and Goomalling.

    “The whole project will cost an estimated $7million and we will have further discussions with affected local governments on how this money is to be spent.”

    Ms MacTiernan congratulated the steering group, consisting of local government, industry and community representatives chaired by Goomalling farmer Darren West, which managed the rigorous consultation process.

    “A final report on the outcomes of the community consensus forum is being distributed by the steering group to all those who took part in the process,” she said.

    “The result that emerged is not an outcome dominated any single interest group, but one that has taken account of economic, social and environmental values.

    “This process considers a wide range of data as well as community values and I am confident the decision will be embraced by the majority of stakeholders.”

    Minister's office: 9213 6400