Norman Moore

Norman Moore


    Government appoints ex-Channel 7 chief as Lotteries Commission chairman

    19/12/2000 6:05 AM

    Perth businessman Kevin Campbell has been appointed chairman of the Lotteries Commission of Western Australia.

    Racing and Gaming Minister Norman Moore announced the appointment today.

    He also announced that Corin Lamont would replace Deborah McGeoch on the Lotteries Commission board.

    Mrs McGeoch was leaving after completing a second three-year term as a board member.

    Mr Campbell has 35 years’ experience in the television industry and is a former chairman and chief executive officer of TVW7.

    His appointment follows the resignation of Lloyd Steward after almost seven years as commission chairman.

    Mr Campbell is currently non-executive chairman of Q Multimedium Ltd, non-executive chairman of Data and Commerce Ltd, chairman of EiR Pty Ltd and a director of Movies Online Ltd.

    He also serves on many boards and chairs the TVW Telethon Institute for Child Health Research, ScreenWest and the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts.

    Ms Lamont has been involved in establishing and managing the Lamonts vineyard, winery, restaurant and gallery since 1978.

    She is president of the Swan Valley Tourism Council.

    Mr Moore said that Mr Campbell and Ms Lamont brought to the Lotteries Commission valuable and wide-ranging experience in business, the arts and the not-for-profit sector.

    He also paid tribute to the longstanding contributions of Mr Stewart and Mrs McGeoch.

    “Mr Stewart has been an outstanding leader of the commission,” Mr Moore said.

    “Under his chairmanship, it has become a world-class lottery and a key partner for the not-for-profit sector in Western Australia.”

    Mr Moore said that Mrs McGeoch had made a particular contribution in the commission’s support for the arts.

    Mr Campbell said he was proud to have been invited to chair a body as important to Western Australia as the Lotteries Commission.

    Media contact: Hartley Joynt, Minister’s office 9321 1444.