Colin Barnett

Colin Barnett


    Minister names Principal of the Year

    30/11/2000 8:30 AM

    Joondalup Primary School Principal Joe Martin is the new millennium’s Principal of the Year.

    Education Minister Colin Barnett announced this morning Mr Martin, an educator for 43 years and principal for more than three decades, had been judged to be the State’s most outstanding Government school head.

    He said Mr Martin - who retires at the end of the year - was nominated by his school community and selected by a panel including senior Education Department staff and members of the Rotary Club of Heirisson.

    The Rotary Club established the Principal of the Year Awards eight years ago and they were this year sponsored by Home Building Society.

    Mr Barnett said he was very pleased to announce Mr Martin as winner of the coveted prize, which he won from more than 50 nominees.

    “Joe’s nomination papers talk about his incredible dedication to bringing out the best in his students by encouraging and being supportive of staff and involving the school community heavily in school activities,” Mr Barnett said.

    “It’s obvious he is a tireless principal, one who is constantly thinking of new ways to improve his school and make it a wonderful learning environment for students, staff and parents.”

    Mr Martin, at Joondalup Primary School since 1998, was chosen from eight finalists. He received a plaque and the prize of a weekend for two at Cape Lodge in Yallingup.

    Mr Barnett said Mr Martin was highly respected by his school community.

    “His P&C President, Paul Kimber, says he ensures all people within the school community work as partners to provide students with the best educational experience they can receive,” he said.

    “He believes it is the right of every individual student and teacher to be supported to reach his or her fullest potential.

    “This inspiring attitude endears Joe not only to staff and parents but also colleagues.”

    Mr Martin began work with the Education Department in 1957, as a teacher at Boulder Primary School.

    He has since worked in many parts of the State, including other Goldfields postings, Grass Patch, Bindi Bindi, Manjimup East, Cooke Point, North Perth, Nedlands, Wanneroo and Edgewater primary schools.

    He received his first substantive headmaster’s position in 1966 and has acted in superintendents’ positions a number of times.

    Warnbro Community High School principal Terry Sanbrook was awarded a Special Commendation and received a plaque and a $200 dinner voucher.

    The other six finalists, were Geoff Wood of Davallia Primary School, Jim Heslop of Noranda Primary School, Alan Keane of Rosalie Primary School, Karen Wearn of John Forrest Senior High School, Kevin O’Keefe of Mt Barker Senior High School and Denise Hilsz of Westfield Park Primary School.

    Mr Barnett said each of the finalists had contributed significantly to the education of the State’s children.

    They received a $200 dinner voucher and framed certificates, presented by Jim Freemantle, Chief Executive of the Home Building Society.

    Mr Barnett said the Principal of the Year Awards were an excellent way for school communities to recognise and reward the hard work of their school heads.

    “The awards are gaining quite a reputation now, with a record number of entries this year,” he said.

    “I think this shows the desire of Parents’ and Citizens’ Associations and staff to say thank you to their principals by highlighting their very hard, dedicated and selfless work.

    “All Government school principals deserve praise for their hard work and this awards program serves to encourage and support school heads to excel.”

    The presentations were made at a breakfast function at the Langley Hotel in Perth this morning.

    Rotary Club of Heirisson President, Tony Moore said the Principal of the Year Award was part of the Rotary Club’s aim to raise the awareness of people in service professions.

    Media contact: Diana Callander, 9222 9699