Colin Barnett

Colin Barnett


    Government school students recognised

    18/10/2000 8:05 PM

    Students from Government schools across the state were recognised this evening for excellence in the Arts as part of Education Week.

    Education Minister Colin Barnett and Ian Satchwell CEO of the Chamber of Minerals and Energy, who sponsor the Awards, presented the Quest for Excellence Awards at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Perth.

    Mr Barnett said the purpose of the Awards was to acknowledge student endeavour as well as to publicly recognise and reward excellence in education.

    “These Awards provide an opportunity for the Education Department to publicly recognise and reward endeavour, excellence and achievement in the arts and citizenship by students and their teachers in Western Australia,” he said.

    “The Quest for Excellence Awards were established in 1988 and have become a highlight of the school year and of Education Week in particular.

    “It is appropriate that the Awards Presentation Night for the Quest for Excellence falls in the middle of Education Week.

    “Education Week is a time of celebration and acknowledgement of our students, teachers and schools.

    “It is that time of the year when we showcase Government schooling and take the work of teachers and students into the community.”

    Mr Barnett said a total of 165 entries were received this year from 49 secondary schools - including from Geraldton, Esperance, Albany, Kalgoorlie and Cunderdin - with 41 entries selected as finalists.

    “These students have very bright futures, and I look forward to hearing about their achievements,” Mr Barnett said.

    He said the winning visual art works - along with 70 other works from schools across all education sectors - were on display at the WA Museum’s Hellenic Gallery until October 31 as part of The Young Originals visual arts and design exhibition.

    Awards were presented in five categories: written expression, the visual arts - functional and non-functional forms - performing arts, and citizenship. The judging panel included experts in specific areas.

    The WA Chamber of Minerals and Energy presented all winners with a prize, and all highly commended entrants also received a prize.

    The Education Department presented each finalist with a book prize.

    The winners in the five categories were:

    Written Presentation: NANCY PAGE of John Curtin College of the Arts for her poetry entry, “Machine Malfunction”

    Visual Arts – Design and Technology Functional Form: JOEL MITCHELL of Kalamunda Senior High School for his graphic design piece, “Caf� Sitcom”

    Visual Arts – Design and Technology Non-Functional Form: BENJAMIN BICKLEY of Australind Senior High School for his sculpture, “Circumscription”

    Performing Arts: JESSICA MONKHORST of Albany Senior High School for her musical composition, “An Anzac Poem for Violin”

    Citizenship: PAMELA HAGGAS, MATTHEW JAJKO, JESSE MATTHEWS, and JOANNA TYLER of John Forrest Senior High School for “Termites for Numbats: Saving a Threatened Species”

    Media contacts:
    Diana Callander 9222 9699
    Andy O’Brien 9264 5821 – Education Department