Kim Hames

Kim Hames


    Awards recognise contributions to Aboriginal Education

    19/10/2000 10:00 PM

    Some of Western Australia’s most outstanding individuals and groups working for Aboriginal education had their efforts recognised at an awards function in Perth tonight.

    Aboriginal Affairs Minister, Dr Kim Hames, presented this year’s Aboriginal Education Awards of Achievement as part of Education Week 2000.

    “The awards acknowledge the excellent work being done and the outstanding achievements of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in the field of Aboriginal education,” Dr Hames said.

    This is the sixth year the Awards have been presented to recognise the outstanding achievements of students, individuals, groups, schools, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people.

    Dr Hames said improving education standards of Aboriginal students were a priority of the Government.

    “Aboriginal parents and caregivers and the community have a key role if these objectives are to be realised,” he said.

    “Parent and community participation in the education partnership is crucial in assisting schools to achieve the intended outcomes.”

    Nominations for the Aboriginal Education Awards of Excellence were called from school communities and Aboriginal Student Support and Parent Awareness program committees.

    “The processes for nominating and selecting the recipients for the Aboriginal Education Awards of Achievement is an indication of the effective partnerships being built between the educational and Aboriginal community,” Dr Hames said.

    Speaking at the function, Education Department Director General Peter Browne said the Awards were set up by the Department to promote a positive image of Aboriginal education and training in the Aboriginal and broader communities.

    “There are many people who work especially hard to help the achievements of Aboriginal students,” he said.

    “The Education Department has a number of strategies in place aimed at achieving improved educational outcomes for Aboriginal students especially literacy and numeracy, and to increase their retention, attendance and participation.

    “There are also programs to address health issues such as Otitis Media, and to maximise the employment of Aboriginal people in schools.”

    Mr Browne said that the first Government Aboriginal community school was being constructed in Midland to begin operations in February 2001.

    The winners of the 2000 Aboriginal Education Awards of Achievement are:

    Outstanding Female Aboriginal Student in Year 12
    Amanda Shedley, Eastern Goldfields Senior High School

    Outstanding Male Aboriginal Student in Year 12
    James Palmer, Coodanup Senior High School

    Outstanding Aboriginal Community/ASSPA Group
    Nulsen Aboriginal Kindy Board

    Outstanding Non-Aboriginal Teacher
    Sandi Grylls, Mount Barker Primary School

    Outstanding Non-Aboriginal Educator
    Sam Hancock, East Kenwick Primary School

    Outstanding Aboriginal Educator
    Hazel Hobbs, Wangkatjungka Remote Community School

    Outstanding School
    Midvale Primary School

    Barry Hayward Award (Outstanding Achievement - Aboriginal Individual)
    Iris Woods, Coodanup Senior High School

    Milton Thorne Award (Outstanding School Based Initiative)
    West Northam Primary School – MOASH Project

    Ben Drayton Award (Outstanding District Initiative for Aboriginal Students)
    Esperance District Aboriginal Education Council

    Aboriginal Education Hall of Fame Award
    Fred Merridith

    Aboriginal Education & Training Council Award
    Kevin O’Keefe

    Media contacts:
    Sandy Gater, Minister Hames office, 9424 7455
    Andy O’Brien, Education Department, 9264 5821