Rhonda Parker

Rhonda Parker


    Finalists in the 1999 WA Seniors' Awards announced

    21/10/1999 11:44 AM

    The eight dedicated seniors from across the State, who are finalists in the 1999 Western Australian Seniors’ Awards, have been announced by Seniors’ Minister Rhonda Parker today.

    Award finalists were selected from a record number of more than 165 nominations in the fields of Community Service, Sport and Recreation, Arts and Culture and Business Leadership.

    The winners, who will receive a $500 prize, will be announced at a gala ceremony in Perth on Friday, November 5.

    Mrs Parker said the finalists captured the spirit of this International Year of Older Persons by promoting positive ageing through dedication and commitment to others.

    “Every year the Seniors’ Awards discover role models that inspire other Western Australians to work towards a society for all ages. These eight remarkable seniors have enriched the lives of others in the community and richly deserve recognition,” the Minister said.

    The eight finalists in the categories open to seniors, - those aged 60 or more - are:

    Seniors’ Community Service Award
    Recognises outstanding service by a senior to the community:
    Charles Arblaster (77), Hazelmere
    Lorna Mitchell (86), Kalgoorlie.

    Seniors’ Sport and Recreation Award
    Seniors who inspire others to participate or achieve in sports or recreation
    Stan Sinden (82), Beckenham
    James Harwood (72), York.

    Seniors’ Art and Culture Award
    For seniors who enrich the community through creativity and inspiration in arts and culture:
    Beryl Silvester (76), Bentley
    Jack Davis (82), Fremantle.

    Seniors’ Business Leadership Award
    Recognises seniors who contribute to the business community in a paid or unpaid capacity:
    Barry O’Keeffe (70), Wembley Downs
    Russell Mouritz (67), Hyden.

    The finalists in the awards open to persons/organisations other than seniors are:

    Seniors’ Award of Excellence
    Presented to individuals under the age of 60 for outstanding service to seniors:
    Nita Sadler, Maida Vale
    Thuriyya Ibrahim, Esperance.

    Seniors’ Exceptional Organisation Award
    This award recognises organisations that provide outstanding benefits to seniors:
    Mandurah City Senior Citizens’ Centre
    Esperance Home and Community Care.

    Senior’s Card Quality Business Award
    Open to businesses that participate in the Senior’s Card Discount program:
    Perth Zoo
    Council on the Ageing.

    The prestigious WA Senior of the Year Award will also be announced at the ceremony.

    The winner will be chosen from the five Regional Seniors of the Year who were announced on October 6 at the Lord Forrest Hotel, Bunbury. The winner will receive $2,000 and a trophy in recognition of his/her outstanding achievements.

    The regional seniors of the year are:

    Northern Senior of the Year Robert Crockett (79), Derby
    Mid-West Senior of the Year Jill Bond (75), Carnarvon
    Goldfields Senior of the Year Lorna Mitchell (86), Kalgoorlie
    Southern Senior of the Year Russel Mouritz (67), Hyden
    Metropolitan Senior of the Year Beryl Silvester (76), Bentley.

    A full list of nominees in your area is available on request.

    For further information on the finalists please contact Rebecca Johnston, the Seniors’ Awards Co-ordinator at the Office of Seniors’ Interests on 9220 1115.

    Media contact : Owen Cole 9481 7810