Kevin Minson

Kevin Minson


    Steering comm. formed for disability service plan for local government

    3/04/1996 12:00 AM



    Local Governments are at the leading edge of the removal of barriers to people with disabilities by implementing forward planning strategies, according to Disability Services Minister Kevin Minson.


    Mr Minson said a steering committee consisting of the Western Australian Municipal Association, the Disability Services Commission and Institute of Municipal Management had been formed to guide the disability service plan for local government.


    The steering committee had been working for the past 18 months to help local government fulfil its new legislative obligation to make services accessible to people with a disability.


    A development guide for mayors, councillors and senior local government staff had been developed and backed with a comprehensive resource manual with practical details on how local governments would develop plans in their locality.


    Mr Minson said there had also been Statewide training in May and June last year on planning development and there had been strong feedback from local government on model plans suggested by WAMA and IMM.


    “It is only through the implementation of disability service plans that we will see the systematic removal of barriers to access across the State,” Mr Minson said.


    “The new Local Government Act will come into effect on July 1 this year and many local governments have already included their disability service plan as part of their regular planning process.


    “It would be naive to think that implementing disability service plans will just happen when local governments have so many other demands on their resources.


    “So I am calling on local government to continue to give its support to the implementation of the plans to ensure people with disabilities are not disadvantaged.”


    Mr Minson made presentations to the president of the Western Australian Municipal Association Cr Rob Rowell, Local Government Association president Cr Linton Reynolds, president of the Country Shires Councils Association Cr Ken Pech and Country Urban Councils Association president Cr Doug Fairclough.


    Media contact:  Steve Manchee 481 2133