John Kobelke

John Kobelke

Minister for Police and Emergency Services; Community Safety; Water Resources; Sport and Recreation

    $8.3million to boost WA’s firefighting numbers

    4/07/2008 12:00 AM

    The State Government has allocated more than $8.3million to boost firefighter numbers in Western Australia over the next two years.


    Emergency Services Minister John Kobelke said 44 new firefighter positions would be created in 2008-09, as well as a further 22 positions in 2009-10 to coincide with the opening of the new Ellenbrook Fire Station.


    Mr Kobelke made the announcement as 24 new firefighters graduated from the Recruit School 63 in Forrestfield today.


    The Minister welcomed the latest graduating recruits to the ranks of WA’s Fire and Rescue Service and said they were joining a profession that provided an essential service to the WA community.


    “The new firefighters will be invaluable in maintaining the ongoing service delivery of career fire and rescue stations and their commitment to community safety,” he said.


    “It is a big challenge to join the ranks of the career Fire and Rescue Service and our State’s newest recruits have gone through a rigorous recruitment process which only allows candidates with the right attributes and character to pass.


    “I congratulate all the graduating firefighters on successfully completing their course and achieving the Certificate II in Public Safety for Fire and Emergency Operations.”


    All recruits from Firefighter Training School 63 completed an intensive training course at the FESA Training Centre in Forrestfield and will have their first shift on a station next week. 


    Their training was based on theoretical and practical components of a nationally recognised, competency-based training program.


    Mr Kobelke also made a special presentation to retired chief officer John McMahon, who received a National Medal and two clasps in recognition of 45 years of service to the WA community as a Fire and Rescue Service firefighter.


    Minister's office - 9222 9211