Alan Carpenter

Alan Carpenter

Premier; Minister for Federal-State Relations; Trade; Innovation; Science; Public Sector Management

    Premier salutes outstanding citizens and service organisations

    2/06/2008 12:00 AM

    Premier Alan Carpenter has praised outstanding citizens and service organisations at the 36th Annual Western Australian Citizen of the Year Awards.


    WA Governor His Excellency Dr Ken Michael AM announced the award winners at a special ceremony last night.


    This year’s ceremony saw the presentation of the inaugural Sir Charles Court Inspiring Leadership Award, presented to world-renowned ophthalmic surgeon Professor Ian Constable AO.


    Professor Constable received the award, which recognises exceptional leadership from all fields of endeavour, for his services to the Lions Eye Institute, science and for his work in helping improve the sight of Aboriginal people.


    The Bendat Family Foundation Perpetual Youth Scholarship was awarded to 21-year-old Vinay Menon, for his work with HIV AIDS sufferers, Sudanese refugees and at-risk youth.


    Awards were also presented in the categories of Arts, Culture and Entertainment; Community Service; The Governor’s Award for Regional Development; Industry and Commerce; Sport; The Professions; Youth; Youth Arts and the Gold Swan Award for an exemplary service organisation.


    Mr Carpenter said he was privileged to acknowledge the contributions of outstanding Western Australians and service organisations.


    “The recipients of these awards over the past 35 years have been truly awe inspiring and demonstrate that WA’s greatest asset is its people,” the Premier said.


    “I am very pleased to recognise the achievements, vision, commitment and community spirit of individuals and service organisations which make our State a better place to work and live in.


    “The State Government is proud to support the awards and extends its congratulations to all 2008 award nominees and recipients for their valued contribution.”


    Western Australian Citizen of the Year Award winners include


    Arts, Culture and Entertainment Award:

    Mr Tony Jones


    Community Service Award:

    Mrs Patricia Lavater


    The Gold Swan Award:

    Kidney Health Australia


    The Governor's Award for Regional Development:

    Mr George (Rex) Edmondson AO


    Industry and Commerce Award:

    Mr Richard Goyder


    The Professions Award:

    Professor Peter Klinken


    Sport Award:

    Mr Ron Tindall OAM


    Youth Arts Award:

    Ms Aimee Johns


    Youth Award:

    Mr Vinay Menon


    Sir Charles Court Inspiring Leadership Award:

    Professor Ian Constable AO


    Bendat Family Foundation Perpetual Youth Scholarship:

    Mr Vinay Menon


    More information on the Western Australian Citizen of the Year Awards is available on Celebrate WA’s website

    Premier's office - 9222 9475